Galway celebrated the return of Michael Meehan to the maroon shirt with a dominant 3-1 to 0-10 victory over Roscommon in the Connacht Football Championship at Hyde Park.

The Galway forward line destroyed their Roscommon opponents with goals from Mark Hehir and Paul Conroy in the first-half that saw them hold a 2-8 to 0-6 lead at the break. 

But the return of Meehan, who kicked two points and set up Gary Sice for Galway's third goal, was a bonus as Galway cruised into the Connacht Championship semi-final in Pearse Stadium.

After the early exchanges saw Roscommon hold a 0-2 to 0-1 lead, Galway went on the rampage and hit 2-5 without reply in a 15-minute spell that proved the difference in the end.

Hehir's goal arrived after an error from John Rogers in the 11th minute, but by that stage Roscommon had already lost influential midfielder Michael Finneran and were in disarray for some time.

But ten minutes later Cornoy struck a wonderful goal after he fielded a long ball from Johnny Duane and blasted low past Geoffrey Claffey.

Galway were unstoppable at that stage with Sice and Bergin dominant around the middle of the field and Conory causing all sorts of problems for Niall Carty at the edge of the square.

Three points in a row before the break renewed the slim Roscommon hopes but after the quiet Donie Shine landed one of just two frees, two points each from Conroy and Meehan pulled Galway into a ten-point lead with 15 minutes remaining.

With Meehan already on the pitch and causing havoc Alan Mulholland introduced Padraic Joyce, but it was Meehan's wizardry that conjured a goal for Sice seven minutes from time that capped a wonderful performance from the Tribesmen.

But there was still time for the outstanding Conroy to land two late points as Galway now go on to meet Kevin Walsh's Sligo at Pearse Stadium in two weeks' time.


Galway: P Conroy (1-4); G Sice (1-3, 2fs); M Hehir (1-0)' M Meehan (0-2, 1f); G Bradshaw (0-2); J Bergin (0-2); S Armstrong (0-1); K McGrath (0-1).

Roscommon: S Kilbride (0-3, 2fs); D Shine (0-2fs); D O'Gara (0-2); K Mannion (0-1); C Cregg (0-1); G Henehgan (0-1)

Galway: A Faherty; K McGrath, F Hanley, K Kelly; G Bradshaw, J Duane, G O'Donnell; J Bergin, G Higgins; G Sice, D Burke, T Flynn; S Armstrong, P Conroy, M Hehir.

Subs: M Meehan for Armstrong, 47; P Joyce for Burke, 52; T Fahy for O'Donnell, 53; D Cummins for Hehir, 54; M Boyle for Sice, 66.

Roscommon: G Claffey; S McDermott, N Carty, S Purcell; C Dineen, P Domican, I Kilbride; M Finneran, K Mannion; D Keenan, C Cregg, J Rogers; S Kilbride, D McDermott, D Shine.

Subs: N Daly for Finneran, 10; D O'Gara for Rogers, 24; G Henehan for Keenan, 48; K Higgins for D McDermott, 53; C Shine for S Kilbride, 54.