Football draw offers fascinating ties

Updated: Thursday, 06 Oct 2011 22:34

Cork and Kerry will not meet in the Munster final next year
Cork and Kerry will not meet in the Munster final next year

Tipperary stand in the way of a meeting of Cork and Kerry in the 2012 Munster Football Championship semi-finals, while Dublin will open their Leinster campaign against Westmeath or Louth.

Munster champions Kerry face the young stars of Tipp with the Rebels awaiting the winners in the last four.

Waterford will take on Limerick for the right to meet Clare in the semi-finals as the so called weaker counties in the province are handed an opportunity to reach a Munster decider.

In Leinster, the Dubs will begin the defence of their All-Ireland crown when they come up against the winners of the first round clash between Westmeath and Louth.

Longford and Laois meet for a second year in succession while Meath will take on Wicklow who are moving on from the departure of Mick O’Dwyer.

There is a potential repeat of last year’s final between the Dubs and Wexford in the last four.

There were two gripping clashes between Meath and Kildare in the province in 2011 and there could be another meeting in next year’s semi-finals.

The Lilywhites will take on Offaly, with Carlow waiting to see who will emerge between the Royals and the Garden County.

Armagh and Tyrone will meet in a fascinating quarter-final in Ulster.

If Ulster champions Donegal see off Cavan in the premlinary round, they will host Derry in Ballybofey in the last eight.

Monaghan will meet Antrim and Fermanagh take on Down in the other quarter-final.

Mayo will be the happiest side after the draw in Connacht. They have been handed a home tie with London or Leitrim in the last four in the province.

Sligo face a tricky trip to New York but the prize is a home tie with Galway or Roscommon in the semi-finals.


Waterford v Limerick
Kerry v Tipperary

Clare v Waterford/Limerick
Cork v Kerry/Tipperary


New York v Sligo
London v Leitrim
Galway v Roscommon

New York/Sligo v Galway/Roscommon
Mayo v London/Leitrim


Fermanagh v Down
Monaghan v Antrim
Armagh v Tyrone
Cavan/Donegal v Derry


Westmeath v Louth
Longford v Laois
Meath v Wicklow

Westmeath/Louth v Dublin
Longford/Laois v Wexford
Meath/Wicklow v Carlow
Offaly v Kildare