GAA Player of the Year nominees revealed

Updated: Tuesday, 30 Sep 2008 09:01

Brian Dooher is among the nomiees for Footballer of the Year
Brian Dooher is among the nomiees for Footballer of the Year

The Vodafone GAA Player of the Year awards in both hurling and football will go to a new recipient this year following the announcement of the shortlist of nominees.

While the shortlist for the senior awards does not include any previous winners, the odds on players from All-Ireland hurling and football champions Kilkenny and Tyrone, respectively, taking the laurels must have shortened considerably after the announcement of nominees today.

Both counties have two of the three nominees in their respective codes, with Kilkenny's Eddie Brennan and Eoin Larkin joining Waterford star Eoin Kelly in the nominations for the hurling award.

Tyrone's Brian Dooher and Sean Cavanagh are nominated alongside Kerry's Colm Cooper for the football equivalent.

For Larkin the nomination comes just days after he was nominated for his first All Stars award. All other nominees for the Player of the Year, in both codes, have already been selected as All Stars in recent years.

In the Young Player of the Year category, there will be few surprises at the hurling nominees, with Cathal Naughton of Cork, Joe Canning of Galway and Seamus Callinan of Tipperary short-listed following stunning displays this season.

In the football category, Limerick's Ian Ryan and Laois' Johnny O'Loughlin will be hoping to give their counties their first ever Young Player of the Year award in the code but will have stiff competition from All Star nominee Tommy Walsh, from Kerry, who is also short-listed.

The winners will be announced live on television at the Vodafone GAA All Stars banquet at Dublin's Citywest Hotel on 17 October.

Hurler of the Year Nominees
Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny)
Eoin Kelly (Waterford)
Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)
Young Hurler of the Year Nominees
Cathal Naughton (Cork)
Joe Canning (Galway)
Seamus Callinan (Tipperary)
Footballer of the Year Nominees
Brian Dooher (Tyrone)
Colm Cooper (Kerry)
Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone)
Young Footballer Nominees
Ian Ryan (Limerick)
Johnny O'Loughlin (Laois)
Tommy Walsh (Kerry)