Tyrone boss unveils McKenna Cup squad

Updated: Thursday, 14 Jun 2007 16:04

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named a 31-man squad for the upcoming Dr McKenna Cup
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named a 31-man squad for the upcoming Dr McKenna Cup

Tyrone's squad for the Dr McKenna Cup would suggest that Mickey Harte's lengthy series of trials has proved a rewarding exercise.

More than half the panel are newcomers, some of them getting their first taste of inter-county football at any level.

Others have earned a recall, having been involved at senior level in previous seasons, while Harte has also called up a handful of graduates from successful Red Hand minor and Under-21 teams.

The squad will inevitably take on a more familiar appearance as the weeks progress, with a number of established stars set to return from long-term injury, namely skipper Brian Dooher, Conor Gormley, Brian McGuigan, Colin Holmes and Ciaran Gourley.

Also out in the short-term due to injury are John Devine and Colm McCullagh, while Philip Jordan is currently travelling in the Southern Hemisphere.

But in the meantime, the double All-Ireland winning manager has handed out no less than 17 golden opportunities to individuals he feels are capable of staking a claim for long-term inclusion.

Cookstown defender Paul McGurk, a regular until a serious leg injury interrupted his career in 2002, is back, while a number of players who featured in previous trials and McKenna Cup campaigns get another chance.

They include Colm Donnelly of Clonoe, Donaghmore's Kelvin Hughes, Aidan McCarron of Fintona, Ciaran McCrory (Galbally), Tommy McGuigan (Ardboe) and Errigal Ciaran's Paul Quinn, recently voted Tyrone's Club Player of the Year.

Harte has also dipped into the vast well of talent available as a result of the county's successful under-age system, with half a dozen former county minor and U-21 stars included, namely Niall Gormley (Trillick), Paul Marlow (Eskra), Omagh's Cathal McCarron, Errigal Ciaran's Damien 'Daisy' McDermott, Paul Rouse of Brackaville, and Sean Cavanagh's younger brother Colm, from the Moy club.

And there are three call-ups with no inter-county experience whatsoever – Christopher Colhoun (Pomeroy), Damien McCaul (Donaghmore) and Dungannon's Declan Treanor.
Tyrone squad:
Dermot Carlin (Killyclogher), Christopher Colhoun (Pomeroy), Colm Donnelly (Clonoe), Niall Gormley (Trillick), Davy Harte (Errigal Ciaran), Kelvin Hughes (Donaghmore), Kevin Hughes (Killeeshil), Paul Marlow (Eskra), Ryan Mellon (Moy), Mickey Murphy (Galbally), Owen Mulligan (Cookstown), Aidan McCarron (Fintona), Cathal McCarron (Omagh), Damien McCaul (Donaghmore), Pascal McConnell (Newtownstewart), Ciaran McCrory (Galbally), Damien McDermott (Errigal Ciaran), Sean Cavanagh (Moy), Colm Cavanagh (Moy), Brendan Boggs (Owen Roes), Mickey McGee (Loughmacrory), Cormac McGinley (Errigal Ciaran), Enda McGinley (Errigal Ciaran), Tommy McGuigan (Ardboe), Paul McGurk (Cookstown), Ryan McMenamin (Dromore), Stephen O'Neill (Clan na nGael), Martin Penrose (Aghyaran), Paul Quinn (Errigal Ciaran), Paul Rouse (Brackaville), Declan Treanor (Dungannon).