2013 Camogie All-Star nominations

Updated: Thursday, 03 Oct 2013 13:55 | Comments

Galway defeated Kilkenny in this year's final
Galway defeated Kilkenny in this year's final

Galway, Kilkenny and Cork dominate the All Stars shortlist released today by the Camogie Association.

All Ireland champions Galway, who won their second title last month, have received nine nominations. Goalkeeper Susan Earner, Therese Maher, Heather Cooney, Sarah Dervan and Lorraine Ryan are named in defence. Ailish O’ Reilly, Niamh McGrath and Emma Kilkelly are listed in the forward line and Niamh Kilkenny is amongst the midfield nominees.

Finalists Kilkenny have received ten nominations. Jacqui Frisby, Mairead Power, Elaine Aylward, Edwina Keane are nominated in defence. Aoife Neary, Katie Power, Aishling Dunphy, Shelly Farrell receive nominations in the forward line, while Claire Phelan and Ann Dalton are named in midfield.

League champions Cork also received ten nominations. Goalkeeper Aoife Murray, captain Anna Geary, Denise Cronin, Pamela Mackey and Maria Walsh make up the defence. Dual stars Briege Corkery and Angela Walsh are nominated in the forward line.

Clare received seven nominations with Chloe Morey and Niamh O’Dea in defence, while Deirdre Murphy is amongst the forwards along with Claire McMahon.

Mags D’Arcy, Kate Kelly and Ursula Jacob are the Wexford nominees.

Grainne McNicholl is Derry’s sole nominee.

Offaly have five players in contention with midfielder Siobhan Flannery, attacking trio Lorraine Keena, Elaine Dermody and Tina Hannon and defender Michaela Morkan all shortlisted.

This year’s team will be announced at the 10th annual All Stars banquet in Citywest on 2 November.

2013 All Star Nominees

Mags D’Arcy (Wexford), Susan Earner (Galway), Aoife Murray (Cork)

Full Backs
Heather Cooney (Galway), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Marion O’Brien (Clare), Carol O’Leary (Clare), Mairéad Power (Kilkenny), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Maria Walsh (Cork)

Half Backs
Elaine Aylward (Kilkenny), Denise Cronin (Cork), Anna Geary (Cork), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Therese Maher (Galway), Chloe Morey (Clare), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Grainne McNicholl (Derry), Niamh O’Dea (Clare)

Naomi Carroll (Clare), Ann Dalton (Kilkenny), Siobhan Flannery (Offaly), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Jennifer O’Leary (Cork), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny)

Half Forwards
Briege Corkery (Cork), Aishling Dunphy (Kilkenny), Lorraine Keena (Offaly), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Emma Kilkelly (Galway), Deirdre Murphy (Clare), Niamh McGrath (Galway), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Angela Walsh (Cork)

Full Forwards
Elaine Dermody (Offaly), Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny), Tina Hannon (Offaly), Ursula Jacob (Wexford), Katriona Mackey (Cork), Claire McMahon (Clare), Aoife Neary (Kilkenny), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Julia White (Cork)

Speaking about today’s announcement, President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said: “This year’s Liberty Insurance All Ireland Camogie Championships were fantastic with many outstanding games, excellent team and individual performances and wonderful memories for supporters.

“The All Star awards pay tribute to the fantastic contribution of our players throughout the year from League to Championship.

"These awards measure the outstanding displays of skill, talent, and total commitment by our players, both as individuals and as team players. It is a mark of recognition of the enormous contribution by our players to the game of Camogie.”

User contributions and/or comments do not, unless specifically stated, represent the views of RTÉ.ie or RTÉ.
Click here for Terms of use