Derry 3-12 Galway 3-12

Updated: Sunday, 16 Sep 2012 16:11

Galway and Derry will replay on 29 September
Galway and Derry will replay on 29 September

Galway ended up being mightily relieved to have a second bit of the cherry, having seemed certain to claim the title after scoring two injury time points to earn a 3-12 to 3-12 draw with Derry.

The All-Ireland intermediate camogie final ended in a welter of excitement, when with her side trailing by two points, Derry’s Karen Kielt hand-passed to the net in the second minute of injury time.

Referee, Ger O’Dowd had blown prematurely for a penalty though after Kielt’s jersey had been tugged, placing huge pressure on Kate McAnenly.

The Castledawson player proved up to the task though, driving an unstoppable shot to the Galway net to put her side a point ahead.

There was still time for Galway to hit back though and Rachel Monaghan was awarded a free, from which she herself pointed to ensure a replay on September 29.

Derry looked like they were cruising in the first half, as Eilís Ní Chasaide’s fortuitous goal helped them open up a seven-point advantage but a Maria Brehony goal gave Galway renewed hope. McAnenly and Catriona Cormican exchanged goals but Derry’s lead was down to two at half time.

Gráinne McGoldrick stretched that to three early in the second half, although television replays showed that her shot was clearly wide and that was to prove critical at the end.

Although went four clear, Galway gradually took over, with Clodagh McGrath thundering into the game around the middle.

Deirdre Burke’s goal proved a vital inspiration and those points by Rachel Monaghan and McGrath looked to have put them on their way until the late drama unfolded.

Scorers – Galway: E Kilkelly 0-5(1f, 1 45); R Monaghan 0-3(2fs); M Brehony, C Cormican, D Burke 1-0 each; O Curtin 0-2; A O’Reilly, C McGrath 0-1 each

Derry: K McAnenly 2-0(1-0pen); K Kielt 0-5(2fs); E Ní Chasaide 1-0; T McElroy, G McNicholl 0-2 each; S Quinn, S Cassidy, G McGoldrick(f) 0-1 each

Galway: R Callanan; T Kenny, P Kenny, C Gill; L Farrell, S Noone, S Keane; C McGrath, A Lynsky; A O’Reilly, E Kilkelly, M Brehony; D burke, O Curtin, E O’Sullivan.

Subs: C Cormican for Lynskey (20); R Monaghan for Keane inj (30); A Kenny for O’Sullivan (41); R Hennelly for Brehony (52)

Derry: C O’Kane; M Quinn, A Ní Chasaide, A Mullan; A McCusker, E Ní Chasaide, M McGoldrick; S Cassidy, G McNicholl; T McElroy, K McAnenly, G McGoldrick; S Quinn, O Bradley, K Kielt.

Subs: M Mooney for Quinn (34); K Bradley for O Bradley (46); A McPeake for Quinn (49)

Referee: G O’Dowd (Limerick)