Wexford and Galway dominate Camogie honours

Updated: Friday, 06 Jan 2012 16:45

All-Ireland champions Wexford have received 13 nominations
All-Ireland champions Wexford have received 13 nominations

Wexford and Galway have received 13 nominations for the 2011 Camogie All Stars.

The All-Ireland finalists dominate the nominations, followed by Kilkenny and Cork with seven and six respectively.

Clare (three), Offaly (two) and Tipperary (one) complete the 45 nominees.

The winners will be announced at a gala banquet on Saturday, 5 November in Citywest, Dublin.

Wexford captain Ursula Jacob will be hoping to crown a remarkable year, having led her county to back-to-back Championship and League titles, while Una and Mary Leacy will be keen to top off their respective seasons by claiming consecutive All Star awards.

Galway will hope to see their efforts rewarded with captain Brenda Hanney, nominated in this year’s forward line with Therese Maher vying for the centre back berth.

Galway attackers Aislinn Connolly, Veronica Curtin and Tara Rutledge are also in contention for awards.

Speaking about today’s announcement Camogie President Joan O’Flynn:

“This year’s All Ireland Camogie championship has been of top quality with eight teams vying for the honour of champions. It has been a season which will live long in the memory and marked by remarkable collective and individual displays on the field of play.

“The All Star awards recognise the magnificent contribution of players during the course of the season, from the closing stages of the league right through to the All-Ireland final.”

Camogie 2011 All Star Nominations:

Mags D’Arcy (Wexford), Susan Earner (Galway), Aoife Murray (Cork)

Therese Manton (Galway), Claire O’Connor (Wexford), Collette Dormer (Kilkenny), Catherine O’Loughlin (Wexford), Sinéad Cahalan (Galway), Siobhán Lafferty (Clare), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny), Pamela Mackey (Cork)

Elaine Aylward (Kilkenny), Noeleen Lambert (Wexford), Ann Marie Hayes (Galway), Therese Maher (Galway), Mary Leacy (Wexford), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Anna Geary (Cork), Aisling Dunphy (Kilkenny), Aoife O’Connor (Wexford)

Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Jill Horan (Tipperary), Fiona Lafferty (Clare), Ann Dalton (Kilkenny), Josie Dwyer (Wexford), Ann Marie Starr (Galway)

Kate Kelly (Wexford), Aoife Neary (Kilkenny), Lenny Holohan (Wexford), Una Leacy (Wexford), Martina Conroy (Galway), Elaine Dermody (Offaly), Michelle O’Leary (Wexford), Jennifer O’Leary (Cork), Aislinn Connolly (Galway)

Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny), Claire McMahon (Clare), Tara Ruttledge (Galway), Ursula Jacob (Wexford), Brenda Hanney (Galway), Síle Burns (Cork), Katrina Parrock (Wexford), Katriona Mackey (Cork), Veronica Curtin (Galway)