Camogie semi-final previews

Updated: Friday, 14 Aug 2009 11:45

They're down to four now...
They're down to four now...



A preview and team sheets for Saturday's Gala All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship semi-finals.

Both matches live on RTÉ.ie (WW)

Kilkenny v Galway, Nowlan Park, Saturday, 2pm

It is youth versus experience here, exemplified by Ann Downey handing a starting slot to starlet Denise Gaule who impressed in their All Ireland minor win last weekend.

The Cats are contesting the last four after a lapse of three years.

Galway appear to be a stronger outfit this season though. Their attack in particular is more potent.

Aislinn Connolly’s return to the team in ‘09 and Jessica Gill regaining her place after missing most of the summer action is a big boost. Verdict: Galway

Kilkenny: C Ryan; L Fennelly, C Doherty, J Frisby; E Aylward, A Butler, L Lyng; C Dormer, A Dalton (Capt); E Keane, D Gaule, K Power; M Quilty, T Muldowney, A Neary.

Galway: S Earner; R Glynn, A Kelly, T Manton; A M Hayes, S Cahalan (Capt), N Kilkenny, S Tannion, L Ryan; B Hanney, T Maher, J Gill; V Curtin, O Kilkenny, A Connolly.

Cork v Wexford, Nowlan Park, Saturday, 4pm

Apprehensive is the word that best describes the mood in these two camps. Cork are the reigning champions and are unbeaten in the championship thus far.

There is massive competition for places down Leeside resulting in Emer O’Farrell denying captain Amanda O’Regan her place at full forward.

Catherine O’Loughlin is lining out at full back for Wexford after missing most of the league because of travelling, while Katrina Parrock will be hoping to celebrate on the double this week after receiving her Leaving Cert results on Wednesday. Verdict: Cork

Cork: A Murray; J O’Callaghan, C Foley, R Buckley; J Duffy, M O’Connor, S Hayes; B Corkery, O Cotter; E Dillon, G O’Connor, U O’Donoghue; S Burns, E O’Farrell, R Moloney.

Wexford: M D’Arcy; D Codd, C O’Loughlin, C O’Connor; Á Codd, M Leacy, A O’Connor (Capt); C Murphy, M O’Leary; U Leacy, R M Breen, K Parrock; U Jacob, K Kelly, J Dwyer.