Francis MacManus 
Short Story Competition

Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

Monday - Friday, 11.20 pm

Francis MacManus Short Story Thursday 25 July 2013

The Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

The competition was founded in memory of Francis MacManus, the Kilkenny born novelist, biographer and former Head of Talks and Features at Radio Éireann. 

Since its establishment in 1986, the competition has been a launching pad for several new and emerging writers who have subsequently received national and international acclaim.  They include Claire Keegan, Molly McCloskey, Anthony Glavin and Nuala Ní Chonchúir.

The winner of the overall prize will receive €3,000, with prizes of €2,000 and €1,000 being awarded to the second and third prize winners.

Each of the 25 short-listed stories is recorded being read by a professional reader.  The judges listen to these recordings and read the stories before selecting the winning entries.  The names of the authors are not known until the judging process has taken place.

Following the announcement of the competition winners, the entire shortlist is broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 in the autumn.

The competition is now closed for entries.

The Short listed stories will be announced in the Autumn 2017.

'Solar System' by Jenny Roche

'Solar System' by Jenny Roche

read by Keith Hanna.



Contact the Show


Ways to Listen

Radio Player