Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

    Monday - Friday, 11.10 pm

    This year marks the 26th anniversary of the RTÉ Radio 1 Short Story Competition, which over the years has proved to be the launching pad for many renowned Irish writers.

    The Oyster Catchers by Beth Tyrrell is the overall winner.  She received a prize of €3,000.  Her story, read by Kelly Campbell will be broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 at 11.02pm on Monday 30 June 2014. Beth Tyrrell  grew up in Allihies,  on the Beara Peninsula in West Cork. She now lives in Bandon. She is a full time stay-at-home mother and a part time journalist . She edits the parenting supplement of The Sunday World newspaper. See:

    The Chamber Pot by Richard Ball from Co Meath is the second prize winner.  He received a prize of €2,000. His story, read by Andrew Bennett will be broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 at 11.02pm on Tuesday 1 July 2014. Richard was a teacher of English at St Patrick’s Classical School, Navan, Co Meath and has a keen interest in theatre.

    Whalesong by Barbara Leahy from Ballinlough in Cork is the third prize winner. She received a prize of €1,000.  Her story, read by Aonghus Óg McAnally will be broadcast on RTÉ Radio 1 at 11.02pm on Wednesday 2 July 2014. Barbara’s stories have appeared in Crannóg magazine, on the RTÉ Ten website, and in various anthologies.  She has won the Hungry Hill Short Story Competition, the Doris Gooderson Short Story Competition, the Wells Festival of Literature Short Story Competition, and the Words with Jam Shortest Story Competition.

    The three judges for 2014 were Christine Dwyer Hickey, Award winning novelist and short story writer, Julie Parsons, best selling author and former radio producer, Eoin Purcell, Editorial Director, New Island Books.

    The series producer, and Judging Panel Chair of the RTÉ Radio Francis MacManus Short Story Competition is Clíodhna Ní Anluain.

    About The Annual Short Story Series

    Since its establishment in 1986 the competition has been the launching pad, as well as a great source of support and inspiration, for several new and emerging writers. Previous winners include Claire Keegan, Ciarán Folan, Ivy Bannister, Nuala Ní Chonchúir and Martin Malone. The competition was founded in memory of Francis Mac Manus: the Kilkenny-born novelist, short story writer, biographer and former Head of Talks and Features at Radió Éireann.

    Francis MacManus Short Story Tuesday 23 July 2013


    'Bull Wall' by Fiona Gartland

    read by Caitriona Ní Mhurchú.

    Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

    Latest Show

    Schedule Open Schedule