Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

    Monday - Friday, 11.10 pm

    This year marks the 28th anniversary of the RTÉ Radio 1 Short Story Competition, which over the years has proved to be the launching pad for many renowned Irish writers.

    Submissions for this year's competition have now been received. The 2015 competition is closed for entries.

    About The Annual Short Story Series:

    Since its establishment in 1986 the competition has been the launching pad, as well as a great source of support and inspiration, for several new and emerging writers. Previous winners include Claire Keegan, Ciarán Folan, Ivy Bannister, Nuala Ní Chonchúir and Martin Malone. The competition was founded in memory of Francis Mac Manus: the Kilkenny-born novelist, short story writer, biographer and former Head of Talks and Features at Radió Éireann.

    The 2014 short-listed entries can be heard on the RTÉ Player at

    Francis MacManus Short Story Wednesday 10 July 2013


    Long Live Clutter by Una Wolf-Brennan

    read by Ingrid Craigie

    Francis MacManus Short Story Competition

    Latest Show

    Schedule Open Schedule