The Book On One

The Book On One

Monday to Friday, 11.20pm

'Young Skins' by Colin Barrett

The Book on One is a celebration of writing from all over the world, with five 15-minute excerpts from a single book broadcast each week.

The Book on One – Tue 7 Nov to Fri 15 Dec 2017.

‘Reading Turgenev’ by William Trevor, read by Conor Farrington.

This month and next, to mark the first anniversary of the death of William Trevor, a chance to hear an archive recording of his novel ‘Reading Turgenev’, read by Conor Farrington, first broadcast in 1992.  

In 1950s Ireland, a young woman enters into a marriage of convenience with an older man, and subsequently falls in love with her invalid cousin, with whom she spends secret afternoons reading Russian novels.

A season of the shortlist for the 2017 RTÉ Radio 1 Short Story Competition in Memory of Francis Mac Manus: 

Book on One Monday 2 - Friday 6 Oct

Monday 2 October: The Flare Carves Itself Through The Dark by Colin Walsh and read by Gary Murphy

Tuesday 3 October: Stones That Might Be Diamonds by Barbara Leahy and read by Kathy Rose O’Brien

Wednesday 4 October: Flashing Lights by Felipe Deakin read by read by Kathy Rose O’Brien

Thursday 5 October: Apparition Hill by Alan Weadick and read by Ger Ryan

Friday 6 October: Cactus Blossom by Lorcan Byrne and read by Ingrid Craigie

Book on One Monday 9 - Friday 13 Oct

Monday 9 October: That August by Bríd Connolly and read by Ger Ryan

Tuesday 10 October: Because We Are Not Butterflies by Bernadette Cotter and read by Ingrid Craigie

Wednesday 11 October: Uncontactable by Paddy Doherty and read by Cathy Belton

Thursday 12 October: Tattoo by Doreen Duffy and read by Megan Riordan

Friday 13 October: At Piazza Navona by Fiona Gartland and read by Kathy Rose O’Brien

Book on One Monday 16 - Friday 20 Oct

Monday 16 October: A Bird Called Bono by Anne McDonald and read by Denis Conway

Tuesday 17 October: The Red Coat WithThe Black Astrakhan Collar by Margaret Lynch and read by Cathy Belton

Wednesday 18 October: Fragments by Shane O’Neill and read by Andrew Bennett

Thursday 19 October: Ash by Mairi McCurdy read by Ali White

Friday 20 October: Coming Down Hard by Thomas Kiernan and read by Emmet Kirwan

Book on One Monday 23 - Friday 27 Oct

Monday 23 October: Cut The Grape by Mark McGlynn and read by Peter Hanly

Tuesday 24 October: Visitors, by Helen McGoldrick and read by Fionnuala Murphy

Wednesday 25 October: Remnants, by Eamon McGuinness and read by Denis Conway

Thursday 26 October: Dream, by Paddy Murray and read by Peter Hanly

Friday 27 October: Time For You And Time For Me by Celine Naughton and read by Ali White

Book on One Monday 30 - Friday 3 November 2017

Monday 30 October: Waiting for the 8:07 East by Paul James O’Donnell and read by Andrew Bennett

Tuesday 31 October November: The Half-Light by Angela Lyons and read by Emmet Kirwan

Wednesday 1 November New Beginning, by Arthur Sheridan and read by Janet Moran

Thursday 2 November: Danny, by Joseph Sweeney and read by Gary Murphy

Friday 3 November: The Swimmer by Dolores Walshe and read by Peter Hanly

Book on One Monday  - Friday  November 2017

Monday 6 November: Red or Black by Kevin Beakey read by Janet Moran


You can listen back to the last four weeks of The Book on One here:  Listen 

['Listen' will open the most recent episode in the RTÉ Radio Player.  If you would like to hear an earlier episode, please click on 'Listen back further' - in the middle of the Player screen - which will open a calendar.]



Contact the Show


Ways to Listen

Radio Player