Arts Tonight

    Monday 10pm

    Podcasts

    Monday 14th July

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 7th July

    Arts Tonight 7th July 2014

    A look at dance as an art form in Ireland and American jazz pianist and composer Bertha Hope.

    Monday 30th June

    Arts Tonight 30th June 2014

    Anthony Cronin on Poetry, Politics and the modern world.

    Monday 23rd June

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 16th June

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 2nd June

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 19th May

    Monday 12th May

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 28th April

    Peggy Seeger - Full Interview

    A full version of our interview with Peggy Seeger

    Monday 21st April

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 14th April

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 7th April

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 24th March

    Arts Tonight

    On this week’s Arts Tonight, two artists and their way of seeing: artist Dorothy Cross and her new exhibition “Connemara”, and poet Vona Groarke who reads from her new collection “X” and discusses her poetry and life with Vincent Woods.

    Monday 17th March

    Arts Tonight

    On this St Patrick’s Day programme, we remember writer Brendan Behan just days from the 50th anniversary of his death.

    Monday 10th March

    Arts Tonight

    The return of Books Ireland with Jeremy Addis. And the new Coisceim Agnes Bernelle show.

    Monday 3rd March

    Arts Tonight

    On this week’s programme we look at Dublin: mapping the city in poetry.

    Monday 10th February

    Arts Tonight

    A programme about the life and work of artist and architect Patrick Scott, previewing a major two-venue exhibition of his work.

    Monday 3rd February

    Arts Tonight

    A River of Sound: celebrating and debating The Encyclopaedia of Music in Ireland

    Monday 27th January

    Arts Tonight

    A special from Limerick: a city of many cultures.

    Monday 20th January

    Arts Tonight

    This week’s Arts Tonight celebrates the work of Scottish poet Robert Burns in advance of Burns Night next Saturday.

    Monday 13th January

    Arts Tonight

    Ahmad Jamal & 30 Years Temple Bar Studios & Gallery

    Monday 6th January

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 16th December

    Arts Tonight

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today.

    Monday 9th December

    Monday 2nd December

    Monday 2nd December 2013

    An in-depth examination of the arts in Ireland today

    Monday 25th November

    25th November 2013

    Tonight 's programme looks at art and history and in particular how art can and does illuminate history, in particular the history of Ireland a century ago.

    Monday 11th November

    Arts Tonight Monday 11th November

    Arts Tonight visits the Eileen Gray exhibition at the Irish Museum of Modern Art in Dublin with curator Jennifer Goff, and Vincent Woods discusses Gray’s work and legacy with artists, architects and critics, including Yvonne Farrell, Sasha Sykes and Aidan Dunne.

    Monday 4th November

    Arts Tonight

    Vincent Woods visits the re-opened Irish Museum of Modern Art at Kilmainham in Dublin and looks at the exhibitions on show, including the work of the so-called Celtic Surrealist painter Leonora Carrington.

    Monday 28th October

    PJ Kavanagh

    The distinguished English poet P. J. Kavanagh is special guest on Monday night’s edition of Arts Tonight, presented by Vincent Woods. Kavanagh, whose career spans more than five decades, speaks about meeting his Co. Monaghan namesake who demanded that he change his name.

    Monday 21st October

    Arts Tonight - Opera

    This week, against the backdrop of the Wexford Opera Festival, the Opera Theatre Company's 'Carmen' tour, and Northern Ireland Opera's production of Gerald Barry's 'The Importance of Being Earnest,' Presenter Vincent Woods meets singers, composers and managers to discuss the current state of opera in Ireland.

    Monday 14th October

    Arts Tonight 14th October

    We visit the set of Ken Loach's film “Jimmy's Hall” in Leitrim, and speak to the filmmaker about his motivation in telling the story of the controversial Irish communist Jimmy Gralton.

    Monday 7th October

    Arts Tonight Monday 7 October 2013: Theatres of Politics 2

    On tonight's programme, the second of our panel discussions from the Dublin Theatre Festival, Vincent and panel discuss 'The Artists Are Not At Home'. Guests Annie Ryan, Camille O'Sullivan, Feargal Murray Helen Meany, Eugene Downes, consider whether a creative distance from home helps to make good theatre.

    Monday 30th September

    Arts Tonight 30 September 2013: Theatres of Politics

    Panel discussion from the Dublin Theatre Festival with Willie White, Marcus Youssef, Helen Meany, Joe Lawlor and Fiach MacConghail

    Monday 2nd September

    Arts Tonight 2 September 2013

    Vincent Woods with Séamus Heaney and Dennis O'Driscoll in public interview at the Abbey. First broadcast 208

    Monday 24th June

    Arts Tonight podcast 24 June: Belfast photography

    Northern Ireland: 30 Years of Photography at the MAC and Belfast Exposed -- with Paul Seawright, Ciara Hickey, Victoria Dean, Colin Graham, Susan McKay, John Duncan and more

    Monday 17th June

    Arts Tonight podcast 17 June 2013: arts and health

    A space for arts in hospitals and healthcare: the Cloudlands project, Panchaea in Carlow and wider questions of arts policy

    Monday 10th June

    Arts Tonight listen back 10 June: Neil Young

    Music journalists Andy Greene, Alexis Petridis and Sylvie Simmons on Neil Young: the man, the music, the memoir

    Monday 27th May

    Arts Tonight podcast 27 May 2013: Christopher Fitz-Simon

    Christopher Fitz-Simon on theatre, television, MacLiammoir and Edwards, and his long-lost great-great-uncle

    Monday 20th May

    Arts Tonight 20 May 2013: podcast: Dublin Dance Festival

    In-depth discussion and analysis of the Dublin Dance Festival, a week into its run

    Monday 13th May

    13 May 2013: questions from floor, arts in education

    Includes extra questions from floor on arts in education discussion

    Arts Tonight podcast 13 May 2013: arts in education

    Ministers for Arts and Education + panel + audience on the new charter for arts in education

    Monday 6th May

    Arts Tonight podcast 6 May 2013

    Edward Murphy of NIVAL and Mary Moynihan of Smashing Times

    Monday 29th April

    Arts Tonight podcast: Edna O'Brien 29 April 2013

    Extended podcast of Edna O'Brien interview at Cúirt, Galway

    Monday 22nd April

    Arts Tonight 22 April 2013 podcast: False Optimism at the Crawford Gallery, and 21 years of Cork City Ballet

    A visit to an exhibition of Berlin and Irish artists' work at the Crawford Gallery in Cork, and Alan Foley on 21 years of the Cork City Ballet

    Monday 15th April

    Arts Tonight podcast 15 April 2013: Harry Kernoff

    Kevin O'Connor on his biography of painter Harry Kernoff

    Monday 8th April

    Arts Tonight podcast 8 April: Jack B Yeats + National Gallery

    Jack B Yeats Sketchbooks; National Gallery of Ireland director Sean Rainbird; and a painter's eye on the Gallery's treasures

    Monday 1st April

    Arts Tonight 1 April 2013: podcast: Tony Judt + NYRB

    Historian Tony Judt remembered, and 50 years of the New York Review of Books, with Robert Silvers

    Monday 25th March

    Arts Tonight podcast 25 March 2013: History of Opera

    Roger Parker on Opera: the last 400 years

    Monday 18th March

    Arts Tonight 18 March: Marie Mullen

    Actress Marie Mullen interviewed at her old alma mater, NUI Galway, with a student audience

    Monday 11th March

    Arts Tonight podcast 11 March 2013: Stewart Parker

    Playwright Stewart Parker remembered by Marilynn Richtarik, Lynne Parker, Gerald Dawe, John Fairleigh and more

    Monday 25th February

    Arts Tonight podcast 25 February 2013: Peter Rice

    Engineer Peter Rice (Pompidou Centre, Sydney Opera House, Louvre Pyramid) remembered 20 years after his death. Extended podcast

    How to Get this Podcast

    1. Download and Install Podcast Software You will have to download and install software to be able to subscribe to podcasts, and download the latest shows. There are a number of freely downloadable programmes that allow you to access podcasts. Some of the most popular applications are iTunes, Juice and Doppler, for a list of more options go to www.podcastingnews.com. RTÉ is not resposible for the content of external websites or applications.
    2. Subscribe to this Podcast Copy the URL from below or from the address bar of this page and then insert it into your podcast software, look for an ADD or SUBSCRIBE option and follow the instructions. URL: Your software will automatically inform you of any new editions to the podcast without the need to subscribe again. If you have iTunes installed you can use this One Click Subscription.
    3. Listen to your podcast

      The podcast will be downloaded in mp3 format or mp4 if it's video, once the download is fully complete you can simply listen to or watch the programme on your computer, or transfer the file to a portable device (mp3 player, iPod etc) and listen to it at your convenience.

    Arts Tonight

    Latest Show

    Arts Tonight on Twitter

    Vincent Woods

    Schedule Open Schedule