Arena With Seán Rocks

    Monday - Friday 7-8pm



    Latest in women's fiction

    Edel Coffey with a round-up of the latest in women's fiction –

    “The Long Hot Summer” by Kathleen McMahon (published by Sphere)

    “The Happy Ever Afterlife of Rosie Potter (RIP)” by Kate Winter (published by Little Brown)

    “The Secrets We Share” by Emma Hannigan (published by Hachette Books Ireland)

    “That Day In June” by Martina Reilly (published by Hachette Books Ireland)


    Review: "Death and Mr Pickwick" by Stephen Jarvis

    Darragh Downes reviews “Death and Mr Pickwick” by Stephen Jarvis, how a Victorian illustrator Robert Seymour created the character Mr Pickwick in a series of illustrated sketches but his publisher handed over the writing of accompanying stories to a young man with the pename Boz – Charles Dickens (published by Jonathan Cape)


    IMPAC shortlist - "Burial Rites" by Hannah Kent

    Kay Sheehy with the tenth (and final) review of novels on the IMPAC shortlist – “Burial Rites” by Hannah Kent, based around the story of Agnes Magnusdottir who was the last woman to be executed in Iceland (published by Little Brown)


    IMPAC shortlist - "Brief Loves That Live Forever" by Andrei Makine

    Kay Sheehy with the ninth review of novels on the IMPAC shortlist – “Brief Loves That Live Forever” by Andrei Makine. As the dreary Brezhnev era in the Soviet Union gives way to Perestroika and the fall of Communism an orphan recalls fleeting moments that have never left him where lovers live as outlaws, traitors to the collective spirit (published by MacLehose Press)


    IMPAC shortlist - "Harvest" by Jim Crace

    Kay Sheehy with the eighth review of novels on the IMPAC shortlist – “Harvest” by Jim Crace, set in a medieval English village as subsistence farming is forced to give way to wool production and a generation of peasant farmers are displaced (published by Picador)

    Arena With Seán Rocks

    Latest Show

    Arena With Seán Rocks on Twitter

    Presenter: Seán Rocks

    Schedule Open Schedule