Arena With Seán Rocks

    Monday - Friday 7-8pm



    "A Lonely Note" by Kevin Stevens

    Irish-American author Kevin Stevens explains the story behind his new novel “A Lonely Note”, the story of a teenage Muslim boy in an American high school who, in his struggle against racist torment, finds comfort through his love of music (published by Little Island)


    Review: The Angelus Trilogy by Jon Steele

    Declan Burke reviews The Angelus Trilogy by Jon Steele, the three crime novels featuring celestial detective Jay Harper; it includes The Watchers, Angel City and the latest novel The Way Of Sorrows (series published by Blue Rider and Bantam Press)


    Review: "Purity" by Jonathan Franzen

    Dave Lordan reviews “Purity”, the new novel by Jonathan Franzen which addresses themes of sexual infidelity and family relations as well as the impact of fame and the internet on modern life (published by Fourth Estate)


    Oxfam project "Make Them Visible"

    Alice Dawson of Oxfam Ireland and writer Belinda McKeon explain the project “Make Them Visible” where 15 writers were shown a picture of an African refugee and wrote pieces in response; on Culture Night in Oxfam Books on Parliament Street the authors will read what they wrote

    Further details:

    Oxfam website: 


    Review: "Satin Island" by Tom McCarthy / Booker 2015 shortlist

    Yvonne Nolan reviews “Satin Island” by Tom McCarthy, about an anthropologist named U employed by a faceless corporation to help them sell products (published by Jonathan Cape); it is one of the 6 novels shortlisted for this year’s Booker Prize

    Listen-back to some of the shortlisted novels featured on Arena at - Anne Tyler "A Spool Of Blue Thread" on 23/02/2015, Marlon James "A Brief History of Seven Killings" on 22/10/2014 and Hanya Yanagihara "A Little Life" on 24/08/2015

    See full Booker shortlist at:


    "Ragtime" by EL Doctorow

    Sinead Gleeson re-examines the 1975 novel “Ragtime” by EL Doctorow (who died in July this year), a novel set in the New York area from 1902 until 1912, with brief scenes towards the end describing the United States entry into World War I in 1917


    “The Game Changer” by Louise Phillips

    Louise Phillips, author of “The Game Changer”, her fourth novel with criminal psychologist Kate Pearson and detective Adam O’Connor who are trying to solve a gruesome killing in New York and mysterious disappearances (published by Hachette Ireland)


    "Among The Cows" by Jane Clarke

    Jane Clarke reads “Among The Cows” from her debut poetry collection “The River” (published by Bloodaxe Books)

    Arena With Seán Rocks

    Latest Show

    Arena With Seán Rocks on Twitter

    Presenter: Seán Rocks

    Schedule Open Schedule