RTE National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra Spring Tour 2012 with Barry Douglas
Thursday 12 April -Saturday 14 April 8pm |
Galway, Limerick, Cork

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15 [44'] BRAHMS Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98 [39']

Barry Douglas piano/conductor

"I shall never write a symphony! You have no idea how it feels to a man like me to hear such a giant marching behind." This famous quote by Brahms in relation to Beethoven illustrates his self-doubt even after the great successes of his First Piano Concerto and the German Requiem; on a regional visit to the Alps, he penned his pinnacle of symphonic achievement, the Fourth Symphony. How fitting to hear both works in tonight's programme of early and late Brahms and with such an exponent.

More details to follow

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

You Tube

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest