RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2014-2015

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra announces 2014-2015 season

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra is proud to announce its 2014-2015 Season.

2014-2015 presents a wide ranging programme of masterworks from the symphonic literature, world and Irish premieres, educational and musical discovery concerts, free talks and recitals, free concerts dedicated to contemporary music, Christmas seasonal concerts and concerts for Good Friday and St Patrick's Day and a mentoring programme for young instrumental musicians. A total of 50 orchestral performances, 31 of which take place as part of the orchestra's Main Season at the National Concert Hall, and 33 free associated events will be presented over 9 months. Concerts will take place in Dublin, Galway, Cork and Waterford.

Artists: With Alan Buribayev as Principal Conductor, the Main Season presents a distinguished list of guest artists: violin superstar Julian Rachlin, conductors Andrew Litton and Alondra de la Parra, pianists Gabriela Montero and Enrico Pace, violinist Pekka Kuusisto, cellist Daniel Müller-Schott, violist Maxim Rysanov and outstanding wind virtuosi including oboist Alexei Ogrintchouk, horn player David Pyatt, flautist Adam Walker and trombonist Christian Lindberg are just some of the major international names.

There too, rising stars attracting major international attention, and RTÉ NSO Principals in solo performances. They include Dublin International Piano Competition winner Nikolay Khozyainov, Belfast born conductor Courtney Lewis, recently named as New York Philharmonic Assistant Conductor with effect from September 2014, RTÉ's new ensemble, the RTÉ ConTempo Quartet, clarinettist Julian Bliss, RTÉ NSO Leader Helena Wood, the orchestra's Principal Cellist Martin Johnson and Principal Clarinettist John Finucane.

Irish artists include sopranos Celine Byrne and Ailish Tynan, mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught, pianists Finghin Collins, Hugh Tinney and John O'Conor and conductors Gavin Maloney and David Brophy. Across the Main Season and Horizons, the latter once again taking place in association with the Contemporary Music Centre, the works of eleven Irish composers are featured: Elaine Agnew, John Buckley, Linda Buckley, Frank Corcoran, David Coonan, Jerome de Bromhead, Philip Hammond, Nicola LeFanu, Frederick May, Gráinne Mulvey and Gerry Murphy.

Repertoire: Repertoire ranges from Bach to Bartók, Mozart to Mahler, Beethoven to Stravinsky and beyond. Nine new works, including four RTÉ commissions, will receive world premieres and eight works will receive first performances in Ireland.

Marking the 150th anniversary of his birth, the works of Richard Strauss play an important part through the Main Season which will also celebrate the 150th anniversaries of the Nordic giants, Sibelius and Nielsen, the 30th Anniversary of the RTÉ Philharmonic Choir, Culture Night and the opening of the Embassy of Mexico in Ireland's 2015 programme celebrating Ireland's long and warm relationship with Mexico and the 40th anniversary of diplomatic relations between the two countries. Also featured are Beethoven's four Fidelio Overtures, three of Stravinsky's greatest ballet scores, a mini-series of three Shostakovich symphonies and an exciting range of choral works including two new RTÉ commissions for choir and orchestra. Outside of the Main Season, the RTÉ NSO and the RTÉ Philharmonic Choir will present the St Matthew Passion on Good Friday. In collaboration with Pipeworks and the National Concert Hall, audiences can once again attend a series of free organ recitals programmatically linked to selected Main Season concerts.

Musical Discovery and Education: Following the success of the orchestra's collaboration with the National Concert Hall and Charles Hazlewood in 2013, 2014-2015 will see the start of a new Musical Discovery series in partnership with the National Concert Hall. Great Symphonies Close Up with Charles Hazlewood will, over four concerts, reveal how five composers created five legendary symphonies. For Leaving Certificate students and teachers, the RTÉ NSO and conductor David Brophy will present a Leaving Certificate Guide to Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique, and the RTÉ NSO Mentoring Scheme for advanced young instrumental musicians will return with 2014 Participants joining the orchestra and Courtney Lewis on Friday 5 December.

Out of Dublin: In association with Music for Galway and with the support of SAP Ireland, the orchestra and cellist Daniel Müller-Schott will perform a Main Season concert in Galway on Thursday 9 October. In April, the orchestra will travel to Cork and Waterford with Elizabeth Cooney, violin and Conor Palliser, conductor with a programme of Borodin, Sibelius and Tchaikovsky.

RTÉ comment: Comment from Aodán Ó Dubhghaill, Interim Executive Director, RTÉ Orchestras, Quartet and Choirs and Interim General Manager, RTE NSO: 'The 2014-2015 Season is a kaleidoscopic explosion of orchestral masterworks and colour from the Baroque and Classical periods to the present day, one which is affordable, in the best traditions of public service, and which caters for diverse musical tastes. We look forward to some thrilling music-making, and to presenting it to our loyal Subscriber audience, new concert-goers and those listening at home and abroad through RTÉ lyric fm.'

Price and Value
Single tickets: Prices start at €10. Main Season tickets (excluding New Year's Day) start at €12 with the upper price point of five price options remaining at €35. Student stand-by tickets of €5 and discounts for senior citizens, students and the unwaged continue to be available, subject to availability.

Packages: Discounts of up to 30% are available for customers buying concert packages. Packages start from €34. With the Full Season of 30 concerts, a saving of up to €316 can be made.

Free events: Early evening concerts and pre concert talks continue to be free to all. 100 free tickets will again be available this season for the main evening concert on Culture Night on Friday 19 September.

Booking: Priority booking for current Full Season subscribers is now open. Full public booking opens on Friday 13 June.

Radio broadcasts: Main Season, Horizons and other selected concerts will be broadcast on RTÉ lyric fm.




Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

You Tube

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest