Violin Concerto by Jerome de Bromhead

Jerome de Bromhead
(b. 1945)
Violin Concerto

Note by the composer
This work was written in 2008 and is dedicated to Alan Smale. It is a fundamentally lyrical work which displays elements of spiky dissonance in its ambiguously tonal harmonic language. The interaction between soloist and orchestra is intricate, but the questions and answers are, I hope, clear even when they are distant in time. The traditional concerto "struggle" ebbs and flows throughout the work as sometimes argument, and sometimes agreement is experienced.

The violin emerges as the quietly dominant personality as the work reaches its understated end. It is in three movements played without a break; the middle movement's melancholic and elegiac nostalgia is framed by the outer movements' assertive drama.

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

You Tube

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest