RTE National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

Principal Guest Conductor Hannu Lintu gives his thoughts on his 2011-2012 Season

'In the 2011-2012 Season I'll conduct four programmes that represent my own musical world as widely as possible. You'll experience the scintillating sounds of Anders Hillborg and the joy of Beethoven's Fifth Symphony (23 September), the classical radiance of Sibelius' Third Symphony and Zemlinsky's Lyric Symphony, which combines the wisdom of Rabindranath Tagore with late romantic orchestration (28 October).

Matthias Pintscher's Towards Osiris is an impressive mythological voyage and Lutoslawski's Concerto for Orchestra a masterpiece in instrumentation (30 March).

The beauty and hope of Einojuhani Rautavaara's music contrasts with the colossal despair of Shostakovich's Eighth Symphony (11 May).

In these concerts the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra will be joined by some of my favourite soloists: Martin Fröst. Amanda Roocroft, Angela Hewitt and Colin Currie.'

Follow Hannu's journey with solo artists including:

Martin Fröst
Friday 23 September
'He's an astonishing performer. His choreographic efforts - a mixture of Bob Fosse, Marcel Marceau and Michael Jackson in his moonwalk phase - are almost as nimble as his clarinet playing. And the concerto, [Hillborg's Clarinet Concerto, Peacock Tales] which required the excellent orchestra to hum chords as well as play them, is a series of brilliantly etched moods - reflective, virtuosic, sinister or exhausted. I felt exhausted just watching Fröst.'
The Times, London, August 2008

Amanda Roocroft
Friday 28 October

'When Emilia announces that her soul has died within her, Roocroft allows us to feel the full force of Janácek's compassion, and we are overwhelmed. A noble, harrowing achievement, and utterly wonderful.'
The Guardian on Roocroft's Emilia in The Makropulos Case with English National Opera, September 2010

Angela Hewitt
Friday 30 March

'A glittering, soulful and endlessly colourful performance of Ravel's Piano Concerto, with the great pianist Angela Hewitt demonstrating that she can be as sexy and provocative in this gorgeous, ravishing music as she is cool and elegant in the music of Bach.'
Herald Scotland, November 2006

Colin Currie
Friday 11 May
'Einojuhani Rautavaara's Incantations, a concerto for percussion and orchestra, manages to be both intensely innovative and highly conventional. Rautavaara's concerto is dominated by a resplendent opening orchestral fanfare, which returns at the work's close. The solo part is not, as one had feared, a massive crash-bang-wallop drum extrava-ganza, but a delicate and luminous invention of great expressiveness, with the marimba and vibraphone carrying much of the solo writing. Colin Currie's athletic playing was as dazzling and persuasive as the work itself.'
The Guardian on the October 2009 world premičre

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

You Tube

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest