LINDA BUCKLEY Surge programme note

Linda Buckley Surge (2012)[10'] RTÉ commission

Surge was composed for the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra as part of RTÉ lyric fm's Composer-in-Residence scheme and in many ways acts as a direct contrast to my preceding orchestral work Chiyo, premiered in 2011. While Chiyo emphasizes clean lines and varying blocks of sonority with harmony at the fore, Surge explores a different side to the orchestra, focusing on rhythmic interplay and rapid shifts of energy. The title Surge refers to a strong sense of forward movement, which lies at the heart of this piece.

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

You Tube

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest