RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2014-2015

Friday 12 September, 8pm
National Concert Hall

BEETHOVEN Leonore Overture No. 1 [10']
SIBELIUS Violin Concerto in D minor [31']
R STRAUSS Ein Heldenleben [40']

SAYAKA SHOJI violin (replaces Pekka Kussisto)

Due to ill-health, violinist Pekka Kuusisto has withdrawn from the Season Opening. He will be replaced by Japanese violinist Sayaka Shoji, making her RTÉ NSO debut playing Sibelius Violin Concerto in D minor. The programme will remain as advertised. There will be no Soundings pre-concert talk on the evening of the concert.

Our season opens in style with principal conductor Alan Buribayev launching a survey of Beethoven's four Fidelio Overtures with the energetic Leonore No. 1. The evening also sees the first of five concerts marking the 150th anniversary of the birth of Richard Strauss: the semi-autobiographical Ein Heldenleben quotes more than 30 earlier works, its final pages marked by beauty and tenderness. Making her RTÉ NSO debut, Sayaka Shoji who is replacing Pekka Kuusisto, joins us for one of Sibelius' most famous works, his epic Violin Concerto.

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra's 2014-2015 Season Opening concert will be dedicated to the memory of John Lynch, Associate Principal Viola, RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and his partner, Kevin Devine.

TICKETS: €12, €20, €26, €32, €35 (Conc. €10, €18, €23.40, €28.80, €31.50)
SAVE 5-30% with a package. See LINK
BOOKING: 01 417 0000 | ONLINE


Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest