RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2013-2014 Season Launch: FREE Taster Concert

Tuesday 14 May, 1.00pm, National Concert Hall
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2013-2014 Season Launch: FREE Taster Concert


KHACHATURIAN Gayane Suite: Sabre Dance
MENDELSSOHN A Midsummer Night's Dream: Scherzo
HUMPERDINCK Hansel and Gretel: Witch's Ride
BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes: Storm
TCHAIKOVSKY Sleeping Beauty: Waltz
PROKOFIEV Lieutenant Kije Suite: 'Troika'
COPLAND Appalachian Spring: Simple Gifts
STRAUSS II Thunder and Lightening Polka

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Helena Wood violin
Alan Buribayev conductor

Presenter: Niall Carroll RTÉ lyric fm

With so much great music to choose from the new RTE National Symphony Orchestra 2013-2014 Season, where do you start? Here, of course, with a packed preview of just some of the highlights to come. From Khachaturian's thrilling Sabre Dance, Britten's storm-tossed Peter Grimes and the crackling Thunder and Lightning Polka by Strauss, to the joyful sunniness of Copland's Simple Gifts, some colourful characters such as Prokofiev's Lieutenant Kije and thrills, spills and scares from Tchaikovsky, Mendelssohn and Humperdinck, a guaranteed opportunity to be excited, exhilarated and entertained - much like the year ahead itself! And best of all - it's free.

Catch it on RTÉ lyric fm
Can't make the live concert? This concert is being broadcast live on RTÉ lyric fm, 96-99fm within Niall Carroll's Classical Daytime (10am -2 pm)

Tickets: FREE TICKETED EVENT (maximum 4 tickets per person)
Please note as this is a free event and a live radio broadcast patrons are requested to be in their seats by 12.45pm (Box office to confirm) on the day. Any seats unoccupied or any pre-booked tickets which have not been collected by this time will released and reallocated on a first come first basis

Booking: 01 417 0000 | |

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest