RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2012-2013 Season

Friday 22 March 2013, 8pm
National Concert Hall
Ends 10pm approx

Mozart The Marriage of Figaro Overture, K492 [4']
Mozart Symphony No. 29 in A [28']
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 [26]
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4 in A, Op. 90 'Italian' [27]

Julian Rachlin violin/conductor


CHARISMATIC VIRTUOSO JULIAN RACHLIN MAKES A WELCOME RETURN AS BOTH SOLOIST AND CONDUCTOR FOR ARGUABLY THE GREATEST OF ALL VIOLIN CONCERTOS. Mendelssohn's masterpiece is a passionate helter-skelter ride laced together by heart-stopping melodies and thrilling orchestral writing, while his Fourth Symphony is a colourful snapshot of travels in Italy that calls to mind his nickname as 'the Mozart of the 19th century'. Offering scintillating proof of the comparison is Mozart's own brilliant and energetic Symphony No. 29 and the magnificent Overture to The Marriage of Figaro.

Soundings, 7pm: In Conversation
RTÉ NSO Co-Leader Elaine Clark with Julian Rachlin

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35
(concessions €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking (no fees): 01 417 0000 or ONLINE

Want to save more? Discounts from 5%-30% when you buy 3 or more RTÉ NSO Main Season concerts. You automatically become an RTÉ NSO Subscriber which gives you further benefits and disocunts. To find out more: Call National Concert Hall Box Office on 01 417 0000

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest