RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2012-2013 Season

Friday 18 January 2013, 8pm

National Concert Hall
Ends 9.40pm approx

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 14 in E flat, K449 [21']
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 16 in D, K451 [21']
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 17 in G, K453 [30']

Finghin Collins piano/director


FINGHIN COLLINS CONTINUES HIS JOURNEY INTO THE VERY HEART OF MOZART'S SENSE OF HIMSELF as a composer with three of the six piano concertos he composed in 1784.

Operatically intense, the dark and melancholic 14th ushered in a period of astonishing maturity and innovation, Mozart describing the 16th, which echoes Haydn and revels in ingenuity of the most entertaining kind, as a work 'to make the performer sweat'. The 17th, one of the wittiest and richest of all his piano concertos, delightfully evokes 'celestial fields where the flocks of gods go grazing'.

Soundings, 7pm: Guest Talk
UCD Choral Scholar Director Desmond Earley on Mozart and his travels

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35
(concessions €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking (no fees): 01 417 000 or ONLINE

Want to save more? Discounts from 5%-30% when you buy 3 or more RTÉ NSO Main Season concerts. You automatically become an RTÉ NSO Subscriber which gives you further benefits and disocunts. To find out more: Call National Concert Hall Box Office on 01 417 0000

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest