RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

Friday 11 May, 8pm

at the National Concert Hall

SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 8 in C minor, Op. 65 [61']

Colin Currie percussion
Hannu Lintu conductor

Finnish master Rautavaara wrote his Incantations for our soloist this evening - a three-movement, fast-slow-fast weave of exotic percussion and characteristically luminous orchestration that catches fire in the 'shaman's dance' finale. Shostakovich's Eighth Symphony has no programme, but it's impossible not to hear the Nazis' destruction of Russia in this work. Bombs fall, tanks rattle, bullets whip over an orchestra soundscape of tremendous suffering. Release only comes in the unquiet, uneasy peace of its end - devastating listening in every sense.Read what Hannu says

Listen to an excerpt of Rautavarra Incantations performed by Coline Currie

SOUNDINGS 7pm | In conversation
Percussionist Colin Currie in conversation with Pauline Ashwood

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

How and when to book

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest