RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

Friday 9 March, 8pm
at the National Concert Hall

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV The Three Wonders from The Tale of Tsar Saltan Suite, Op. 57 [7']
PROKOFIEV Sinfonia Concertante for cello and orchestra, Op. 125 [37']
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 [50']

Natalia Gutman cello
Alan Buribayev conductor

Watch Alan's video interviews in which he discusses the 2011-2012 season and his thoughts on being the RTÉ NSO's Principal Conductor

A kaleidoscopic orchestral palette? A world where the ear is continually captivated by an unquenchable flow of often exotic melody? It has to be Rimsky-Korsakov, all fairytale wonder. Tchaikovsky enchants too in another symphonic favourite - the passionate intensity of Symphony No. 5's slow movement, the lightness and point of the waltz, and the surging excitement of the finale all combine to create an uplifting experience. Internationally acclaimed Natalia Gutman throws down the gauntlet in one of Prokofiev's last great works, the Sinfonia Concertante for cello and orchestra. Read what Alan says

SOUNDINGS 7pm | Guest Talk
Dr Simon Trezise of Trinity College Dublin discusses this evening's varied Russian programme

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

How and when to book

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest