RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

Friday 9 December, 8pm

at the National Concert Hall

WAGNER Siegfried's Trauermarsch und Finale from Götterdämmerung (orch. Lessing) [12']
CHRISTOPHER ROUSE Der gerettete Alberich [22']
BRAHMS Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68 [45']

Evelyn Glennie percussion
Alan Buribayev conductor
Watch Alan's video interviews in which he discusses the 2011-2012 season and his thoughts on being the RTÉ NSO's Principal Conductor

Wagner's music often carries an enormous electrical charge - check out the stabbing rhythms of the funeral music and the passionate closing scene from Götterdämmerung. The smaller orchestration of the finale brings out the lyrical beauty in the score. Rouse imagines the only Ring survivor - Alberich - wreaking havoc through masses of now subtle, now malevolent percussion. 'You have no idea what it's like to hear the footsteps of a giant like that behind you,' Brahms said of Beethoven, but he became his own colossus in his dramatic Symphony No. 1. Read what Alan says

Read the Sunday Independent feature interview (4 December, 2011) with Dame Evelyn Glennie here

SOUNDINGS 7pm | In Conversation
Percussionist Evelyn Glennie in conversation with RTÉ NSO percussionist Richard O'Donnell

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

How and when to book

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest