RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

Friday 21 October, 8pm

at the National Concert Hall

BEETHOVEN Wellington's Victory, Op. 91 [16']
WEBER Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor, Op. 73 [18']
WEBER Silvana Overture [5']
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92 [37']

John Finucane clarinet/conductor

Tonight's programme features works all written between 1811 and 1813, a two-year period during the Napoleonic era. Wagner dubbed Beethoven's Seventh Symphony 'the apotheosis of the dance', and listeners have been thrilled by its power and glory ever since. Wellington's Victory is a 'battle symphony' where bass drums imitate canons and the ratchet simulates gunfire. Weber's concerto has a virtuoso 'vocalist' with an amazing range - the clarinet; and brilliant friends (the orchestra) as they range through three movements of exquisite beauty and wit. Silvana, a real rarity, has something of a Mozartean delicacy.

SOUNDINGS 7pm | In conversation
RTÉ NSO Principal Clarinettist John Finucane in conversation with journalist Liam McAuley

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

How and when to book

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest