RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2011-2012 Season

Friday 16 September, 8pm

at the National Concert Hall

PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1 in D, Op. 25 'Classical' [15']
SCRIABIN Prometheus: The Poem of Fire, Op. 60 [24']
STRAVINSKY The Firebird (complete) [45']

Alexander Toradze piano
Alan Buribayev conductor
Watch Alan's video interviews in which he discusses the 2011-2012 season and his thoughts on being the RTÉ NSO's Principal Conductor

'Lord, how much more genius this is - it is real Russia!' wrote Rachmaninov of Stravinsky's hypnotic Firebird score. Scriabin's visionary extravaganza from 1911, Prometheus, required a 'colour keyboard' for a full sensory experience. By contrast Prokofiev's symphonies are a journey from Tsarist Russia through modernist Europe to the chilling Soviet State - a mirror held up to an era. He's a composer with whom Alan Buribayev has a strong natural affinity and we begin here with his 'Classical' Symphony, an infectious and exhilarating nod to Haydn. Read what Alan says

SOUNDINGS 7pm | In Conversation
RTÉ NSO Principal Conductor Alan Buribayev in conversation with Culture Ireland Chief Executive Eugene Downes

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

How and when to book

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest