RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2010-2011 Season

Friday 29 April, 8pm

at the National Concert Hall

R. Strauss Also sprach Zarathustra, Op. 30 [33']
Rachmaninov The Bells, Op. 35 [35']

Marina Shaguch soprano
Evgeny Akimov tenor
Vassily Gerello baritone (Replacing the previously advertised Alexei Markov)
RTÉ Philharmonic Choir (chorus master Mark Duley)
Alan Buribayev conductor

Want to know more about Alan? Watch him online.

Is there a more arresting opening for a musical work than Richard Strauss' Also sprach Zarathustra? Subtitled Sunrise, the music rises to a climax of shattering power, beginning a journey across the whole range of the orchestral palette.

With the RTÉ Philharmonic Choir joining the orchestra this evening for the season's focus on Rachmaninov, we hear his glorious choral symphony, each movement of which portrays a specific type of bell - sleigh, wedding, fire and funeral.

Soundings 7pm | | Guest Talk
TCD Music Lecturer Simon Trezise discusses The Bells
NOTE: This replaces the previously advertised world première of Linda Buckley's new work. This will now take place as part of the main evening concert on Friday 27 May.

Tickets: €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc.€16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

How and when to book

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest