RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra September 2010 Lunchtimes The Symphonic Poems of Dvorák

Tuesday 28 September | 1.05-2pm
at the National Concert Hall

Dvorák The Wood Dove, Op. 110
Janácek Taras Bulba

Phillipe Bach conductor

Programme overview: September lunchtimes
See below for detail on today's concert

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra performs Dvorák's complete symphonic poems with two exciting young conductors over four September lunchtimes.

Dvorák came from nature, from Czech nature, from Czech village life; he mastered his craft, the technique of his time, to perfection, while also filling it with the spirit of his country - and that is what makes him universal.

His four symphonic poems, written in 1896 just eight years before he died, are deeply nationalistic and are often described as the most Czech of his works; they are evocative, pictorial and all four inspired by A Bouquet of Folk Tales, a collection by K.J. Erben.

To hear all four of these works in close succession should be a great musical treat.

Expect all of the wonderful, symphonic orchestral colours, rhythms, and melodies we associate with Dvorák.

The programme this Tuesday
Janácek's Taras Bulba is an orchestral firecracker to bring this short series of lunchtime concerts to a close; with musical depictions of Cossacks, battle, and of course love, allied to Dvorák's last in the sequence of symphonic poems - The Wood Dove - which focuses on infatuation and love in a rural Czech village, we can expect a very vivid conclusion to this lunchtime series.

Music, food and no queues!

€5 Grab & Go lunch (Sandwich/wrap and tea/coffee).
Lunch voucher must be pre-purchased at box-office with concert ticket.

RESERVED concert seating now available.

Tickets: €10 Reserved seating
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest