RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra September 2010 Lunchtimes The Symphonic Poems of Dvorák

Tuesday 14 September | 1.05-2pm
at the National Concert Hall

Mozart Oboe Concerto in C major, K314
Dvorák The Golden Spinning Wheel, Op. 109

Adrian Wilson oboe
Gavin Maloney conductor

Programme overview: September lunchtimes
See below for detail on today's concert

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra performs Dvorák's complete symphonic poems with two exciting young conductors over four September lunchtimes.

Dvorák came from nature, from Czech nature, from Czech village life; he mastered his craft, the technique of his time, to perfection, while also filling it with the spirit of his country - and that is what makes him universal.

His four symphonic poems, written in 1896 just eight years before he died, are deeply nationalistic and are often described as the most Czech of his works; they are evocative, pictorial and all four inspired by A Bouquet of Folk Tales, a collection by K.J. Erben.

To hear all four of these works in close succession should be a great musical treat.

Expect all of the wonderful, symphonic orchestral colours, rhythms, and melodies we associate with Dvorák.

The programme this Tuesday
This Eastern European programme of Mozart and Dvorák encompasses a span of over 200 years; RTE NSO Principal Oboist, Adrian Wilson, features as soloist in one of the masterpieces for oboe and orchestra, alongside the next in our sequence of symphonic poems of Dvorák depicting a story of witchcraft and courtly love.

Music, food and no queues!

€5 Grab & Go lunch (Sandwich/wrap and tea/coffee).
Lunch voucher must be pre-purchased at box-office with concert ticket.

RESERVED concert seating now available.

Tickets: €10 Reserved seating
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest