RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra September 2010 Lunchtimes The Symphonic Poems of Dvorák

Tuesday 7 September | 1.05-2pm
at the National Concert Hall

Wagner Prelude to Act 1 of Lohengrin
Dvorák The Water Goblin, Op. 107
Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody No. 1

Gavin Maloney conductor

Programme overview: September lunchtimes
See below for detail on today's concert

The RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra performs Dvorák's complete symphonic poems with two exciting young conductors over four September lunchtimes.

Dvorák came from nature, from Czech nature, from Czech village life; he mastered his craft, the technique of his time, to perfection, while also filling it with the spirit of his country - and that is what makes him universal.

His four symphonic poems, written in 1896 just eight years before he died, are deeply nationalistic and are often described as the most Czech of his works; they are evocative, pictorial and all four inspired by A Bouquet of Folk Tales, a collection by K.J. Erben.

To hear all four of these works in close succession should be a great musical treat.

Expect all of the wonderful, symphonic orchestral colours, rhythms, and melodies we associate with Dvorák.

The programme this Tuesday
A lunchtime treat for lovers of symphonic music of the late 19th century with works by contemporaries Wagner, Dvorák and Liszt; full of flamboyant orchestral colours, and also nationalistic flavours, we can expect a thrilling start to the season with displays of orchestral virtuosity.

Music, food and no queues!
€5 Grab & Go lunch (Sandwich/wrap and tea/coffee).
Lunch voucher must be pre-purchased at box-office with concert ticket.

RESERVED concert seating now available.

Tickets: €10 Reserved seating
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest