RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2009-2010 Season

Friday 16 April, 8pm

Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2
Prokofiev Symphony No. 5

Finghin Collins piano
replacing Boris Berezovsky

Cristian Mandeal conductor
replacing Carlos Kalmar

"Finghin Collins was equal to the technical and emotional demands of the differing moods of this concerto [Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 2], with its power and sensitivity delicately balanced throughout.... This was an evening where the soloist, the orchestra and also the conductor were on top of their form." Belfast Telegraph, February 2010

Due to the travel difficulties currently being experienced as a result of the volcanic ash cloud, Boris Berezovsky is unable to travel to Ireland to perform Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 2 with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra at the National Concert Hall on Friday 16 April.

Finghin Collins, who performed Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 2 on 26 February with the Ulster Orchestra under Kenneth Montgomery, will now perform the mighty Brahms 2nd Concerto, a Himalayan challenge for the soloist. Prokofiev's 5th Symphony has soaring melodies and razor-sharp wit - 19th-century romanticism fired in Soviet steel.

Soundings: RTÉ NSO Principal Clarinet John Finucane, 7pm

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online.

Subscription Packages
Booking opens: Tuesday 9 June, 10am
Single Concerts
Booking opens: Tuesday 7 July, 10am

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest