RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 2009-2010 Season

Friday 13 November, 8pm

Mendelssohn Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Overture
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3
Larchet By the Waters of Moyle
Elgar Enigma Variations

Peter Tuite piano
Gerhard Markson conductor

At times, it's as if soloist and orchestra wage war in this Beethoven concerto, with its electric opening, transcendental 2nd movement and dancing finale. Elgar's masterpiece, an affectionate portrayal of his friends, is a kaleidoscope of moods. The 9th variation, Nimrod, remains a favourite, while the 13th, which quotes Mendelssohn's Calm Sea, remains a mystery.

Soundings: In conversation
J.F. Larchet's daughter Sheila Larchet-Cuthbert with RTÉ NSO Principal Clarinet John Finucane, 7pm

Enjoyed this concert but unsure where to go next? Our Take a Chance recommendations will point you in the right direction. You may also like 3 December or 12 March.

Tickets: €10, €18, €24, €30, €35 (conc. €9, €16, €22, €27, €32)
Booking: 01 417 0000 or online.

Subscription Packages
Booking opens: Tuesday 9 June, 10am

Single Concerts
Booking opens: Tuesday 7 July, 10am

Read Gerhard Markson's reviews and find out where he is conducting next.

Events Calendar

Event Calendar
<< >>
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su

Follow Us:

Next Performances

Next Performances Image

Links of Interest