The Lyric Feature

The Lyric Feature

Friday, 7 - 8pm

The Lyric Feature Friday 15 August 2014

Georgie’s Vision

We all know about Maud Gonne, but have you ever heard of George, aka Mrs. WB Yeats? In September 1917, Yeats proposed to 25-year-old Georgie Hyde-Lees and they were married in October of that year. In this programme we learn more about this extraordinary but self-effacing woman who made her husband’s greatest poetry possible, and said “thank-you for leaving me out”. Contributors include Professor Margaret Mills Harper, official biographer, Ann Saddlemyer, grand-daughter and harpist Caitriona Yeats, Mark Patrick Hederman, poet John Montague, and Pat Laffan.  

Narrator : Ali White

Readers : Olwen Fouere (George's voice), Pat Laffan as WB Yeats; Ingrid Craigie, David Heap, Victoria Mary Clarke

Producer : Deirdre Mulrooney

Sound Supervision : Brendan Rehill 

A Deirdre Mulrooney production for RTÉ lyric fm with the support of BAI Sound and Vision Scheme from the Television Licence Fee.

The Lyric Feature

Music and Mayhem - Part 3: Composers at War. Ian Fox examines the work of composers whose music were defined and shaped by their experiences of the so called "war to end all wars".

The Lyric Feature is RTÉ lyric fm's weekly documentary and music feature programme. Programmes are produced in house by RTÉ lyric fm staff or in collaboration with independent production companies. Subject matter varies from week to week but most of the programmes aim to provide insight into music and music making.

Music Played on the Show


Title: Introduction - El Amor Brujo

Composer: FALLA

Performer(s): Philharmonia Orchestra Conducted Giulini

Duration: 0:34


Title: Ritual Fire Dance

Composer: FALLA

Performer(s): Philharmonia Orceshtra Conducted Giulini

Duration: 4:12


Title: Elegiac

Composer: BAX

Performer(s): Alison Nicholls, Ashan Pillai, Lorna Mcgee

Duration: 8:47


Title: Symphony 5

Composer: SIBELIUS

Performer(s): Finnish Radio Symphony Conducted Saraste

Duration: 8:48


Title: En Blanc Et Noir

Composer: DEBUSSY

Performer(s): Katia And Marielle Labeque

Duration: 4:08


Title: Che Il Bel Sogno "La Rondine"

Composer: PUCCINI

Performer(s): Te Kanawa, London Philharmonic Conducted Pritchard

Duration: 3:16


Title: Wooden Pronce

Composer: BARTOK

Performer(s): New Tork Philharmonic Conducted Boulez

Duration: 0:07


Title: The Soldier's Tale


Performer(s): Columbia Chamber Ensemble Conducted Stravinsky

Duration: 2:35


Title: Symphony 4

Composer: NIELSEN

Performer(s): National Symphony Of Ireland Conducted Leaper

Duration: 9:05



Contact the Show

Producers: Olga Buckley & Eoin O Kelly


Ways to Listen

Radio Player