The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Mon to Thurs 7-10pm, Fri 8-10pm

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott Wednesday 26 March 2014

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann stars in tonight's concert. He plays a Stradivarius known as the Lady Inchiquin from 1711, which once belonged to Fritz Kreisler!

Friday 20th January - Celebrating John O’Conor's 70th birthday

Paul Herriott presents tonight's concert, the 70th birthday celebration of pianist John O'Conor, live from the National Concert Hall.  Iconic Irish piano legend John O’Conor celebrates his 70th birthday in style with Beethoven’s most spiritual Piano Concerto, the magisterial, mysterious, magnificent Fourth – music of dramatic contrasts that begins in hushed introspection, features the most intricate and intimate dialogue between piano and orchestra and ends in a blaze of exhilarating passion and power. Bruckner’s lyrical Seventh Symphony – a high-watermark of the orchestral repertoire – offers its own rich and rewarding appeal under the baton of former principal conductor, Gerhard Markson. 
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 in G  
Bruckner:  Symphony No. 7 in E  
John O’Conor (piano) 
Gerhard Markson (conductor) 
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Music Played on the Show


Title: Orchestral Suite From 'The Cunning Little Vixen'

Performer(s): Janacek, Leos

Duration: 21:06


Title: Violin Concerto In A Minor, Op. 53

Performer(s): Dvorak, Antonin

Duration: 29:44


Title: Prelude, From 'Partita No. 3 In E, Bwv 1006' (Encore)

Performer(s): Bach, J S

Duration: 3:48


Title: The Golden Spinning Wheel, Op. 109

Performer(s): Dvorak, Antonin

Duration: 3:45


Title: Interludes From 'The Cunning Little Vixen'

Performer(s): Janacek, Leos

Duration: 3:45


Title: Introduction, Theme And Variations In F Major. Op.103 Adagio-All

Performer(s): Hummel, Johann Nepomuk

Duration: 13:39



Contact the Show

Presenter: Paul Herriott

Producer: Gail Henry

Production Co-ordinator: Ian McGlynn


Ways to Listen

Radio Player