The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Mon to Thurs 7-10pm, Fri 8-10pm

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott Monday 16 December 2013

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Tonight we travel to the Grand Palace Hall in Bucharest for a concert by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam.

Watch: Friday 24th March - Berlioz, Poulenc and Saint-Saëns

Michael Lee presents tonight's concert live from the National Concert Hall in Dublin. Composed in the wake of his failed marriage to Irish actress Harriet Smithson, Berlioz’s Les nuits d’été is a haunting leave-taking of love, with Ailish Tynan’s ‘lyric voice of delicious purity’ (Opera Now) sublimely plumbing its melancholic depths. Poulenc’s saucy ballet suite Les biches playfully hints at a host of other composers (Mozart, Tchaikovsky and Stravinsky included) in a deliciously frothy and naughty concoction. Saint-Saëns’ Third Symphony is a feast of memorable melodies, none more glorious than its magically twinkling piano duet theme and soaring organ chorale. 
Berlioz: Les nuits d’été  
Poulenc: Les biches Suite  
Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, ‘Organ Symphony’  
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra 
Rachel Kelly (soprano) 
Jean-Luc Tingaud (conductor) 

Music Played on the Show


Title: Piano Concerto No.3 In C Minor, Op.37

Performer(s): Beethoven, Ludwig Van

Duration: 36:36


Title: Impromptu No.2 In A Flat, D.935

Performer(s): Schubert, Franz

Duration: 5:02


Title: Ein Heldenleben Op.40

Performer(s): Strauss , Richard

Duration: 46:50


Title: Hungarian Dance No.1 In G Minor

Performer(s): Brahms, Johannes

Duration: 3:45


Title: Sonata In A Major Op. 30 No. 1

Performer(s): Beethoven, Ludwig Van

Duration: 22:17


Title: Three Pieces For Piano - I. Andantino

Performer(s): Schoenberg, Arnold

Duration: 3:45



Contact the Show

Presenter: Paul Herriott

Producer: Gail Henry

Production Co-ordinator: Ian McGlynn


Ways to Listen

Radio Player