The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

Friday, 19.30 to 21.30

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott Thursday 27 June 2013

Friday February 16th, 7.30pm - the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra celebrates it's 70th birthday

Paul Herriott presents a concert live from the National Concert Hall, Dublin, celebrating the 70th birthday of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. On this auspicious occasion, the orchestra's former Principal Conductor Gerhard Markson, soprano Orla Boylan and pianist Finghin Collins, all three firm favourites with the orchestra and with audiences, make a welcome return to boost the celebrations.
Wagner: Prelude & Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde, WWV90
Deirdre Gribbin: The Binding Years of Piano (Piano Concerto)
Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet (excerpts)
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Gerhard Markson (conductor)
Orla Boylan (soprano)
Finghin Collins (piano)

The Lyric Concert with Paul Herriott

A recital by young Russian-born, Nikolay Khozyainov, winner of the 2012 Dublin International Piano Competition, with music by Beethoven, Chopin and Liszt

Friday February 23rd, 7.30pm

A stirring legend of love, sacrifice, war and a fabled drowned city, a masterpiece concerto written in the immediate aftermath of the carnage of the First World War, and a symphony of heroic dimensions in which fate came knocking at the door. RTÉ’s new Principal Guest Conductor Nathalie Stutzman (photo Simon Fowler) returns to the podium with Alban Gerhardt stepping into the spotlight for Elgar’s unforgettable Cello Concerto. We'll also enjoy Beethoven's monumental work of unrelenting vigour, the Symphony No. 5, as it moves through tumultuous challenge and quest to a euphoric conclusion, every bit as memorable as its momentous opening declaration.
Lalo: Le roi d’ys Overture
Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor
Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C minor
RTE National Symphony Orchestra
Nathalie Stutzmann (conductor)
Alban Gerhardt (cello)

Music Played on the Show


Title: Piano Sonata, Op.110

Performer(s): Beethoven, Ludwig Van

Duration: 20:09


Title: Piano Sonata No.7

Performer(s): Prokofiev, Sergei

Duration: 19:13


Title: Berceuse In D Flat Opus 57

Performer(s): Chopin, Frederic

Duration: 5:11


Title: Sonata In B Minor

Performer(s): Liszt, Franz

Duration: 30:16


Title: Fantasy On Themes From Mozart S 697

Performer(s): Liszt, Franz

Duration: 13:56


Title: Barcarolle In F Sharp Op. 60 (Encore)

Performer(s): Chopin, Frederic

Duration: 9:20


Title: Il Tramonto (The Sunset)

Performer(s): Respighi, Ottorino

Duration: 14:52



Contact the Show

Presenter: Paul Herriott

Producer: Áine Fay

Production Co-ordinator: Ian McGlynn


Ways to Listen

Radio Player