The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

Fri-Sun 10pm - 1am Text '51554'

The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan Saturday 16 August 2014

The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

Bill Evans, an influential pianist influenced by both Debussy and Bud Powell, was born 85 years ago. This week, Eamonn presents some of Evans' finest solo, duo and trio recordings.

Music Played on the Show


Title: Quintet In E Flat Major Op. 16 - Movement Ii - Andante Cantabile

Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van

Performer(s): The Gaudier Ensemble

Album: Beethoven: Quintet for Piano and Winds, Clarinet Trio, Serenade - The Gaudier Ensemble

Duration: 7:04


Title: Clown

Composer: McTell, Ralph

Performer(s): Ralph Mctell (Vocal, Guitar)

Album: Essential Ralph McTell

Duration: 3:09


Title: Dark Cloud

Composer: Sims, Zoot

Performer(s): Zoot Sims (Vocals, Tenor Saxophone), Richie Kamuca, Jerome Richardson (Reeds), Ross Tompkins (Piano) Et Al

Album: Hawthorn Nights - Zoot Sims

Duration: 4:24


Title: La Spagna

Composer: Anonymous 15 C.

Performer(s): Vicente Parrilla (Recorder), Accademia Del Piacere

Album: Las idas y las vueltas - Spanish Baroque Meets Flamenco

Duration: 3:10


Title: Zajdi, Zajdi

Composer: Trad Serbian

Performer(s): Marko Lazovic (Violin), Bora Dugic (Fife), Hesperion Xxi

Album: Balkan Spirit - Hesperion XXI

Duration: 5:19


Title: Romance

Composer: Elgar, Edward

Performer(s): Marat Bisengaliev (Violin), Benjamin Frith (Piano)

Album: Elgar - The Violin Music

Duration: 5:04


Title: Violin Concerto No.1 In A Minor (3rd Movement) Andante

Composer: Shostakovitch, Dmitri

Performer(s): James Ehnes (Violin), Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Album: Britten & Shostakovich - James Ehnes (Recordno: ONYX 4113)

Duration: 8:29


Title: Let No Man Steal Your Thyme

Composer: Traditional

Performer(s): Jacqui Mcshee (Vocals), Bert Jansch & John Renbourn (Gtr), Danny Thompson (B), Terry Cox (D), Pentangle

Album: The Acoustic Folk Box (4-CD)

Duration: 2:47


Title: Slides And Polkas In The Malian Style

Composer: Trad arr Cooney

Performer(s): Steve Cooney (Guitars); Martin Brunsden (Bass), Robbie Harris/ Robbie Perry (Percussion); Rod Mcvey (Keyboard)

Album: Éiníní

Duration: 4:55


Title: A Thousand Kisses Deep

Composer: Cohen / Robinson

Performer(s): Christine Tobin (Vocals), Phil Robson (Guitar), Dave Whitford (Bass)

Album: A Thousand Kisses Deep

Duration: 5:20


Title: Symphony No.2 (2nd Movement) Andante Espressivo

Composer: Kapp, Villem

Performer(s): Bbc Philharmonic

Album: Baltic Voyage

Duration: 7:05


Title: Con Permiso

Composer: Montón, José Luis

Performer(s): José Luis Montón (Guitar)

Album: Solo Guitarra

Duration: 4:51


Title: No Me Llores Mas

Composer: Grinan, Luis Martinez

Performer(s): Youn Sun Nah (Vocals), Guaillaume Naud (E.Piano), David Georgelet (Perc), Vincent Peirani Accordian), Anel Chanfrault (Cello), Olivier Aude (Gtrs, Bass, Perc, Editing, Backing Vcls)

Album: Down By Love

Duration: 4:42


Title: Lover Man

Composer: Davis / Ramirez / Sherman

Performer(s): Sarah Vaughan (Vocal), Charlie Parker (Alto Sax), Dizzy Gillespie (Trumpet)

Album: The Essential Sarah Vaughan

Duration: 3:32


Title: Young And Foolish

Composer: Horwitt / Hague

Performer(s): Sam Jones (Bass), Philly Joe Jones (Drums)

Album: Everybody Digs Bill Evans

Duration: 5:54


Title: Words Are Dead

Composer: Agnes Obel

Performer(s): Agnes Obel

Album: Aventine

Duration: 3:46


Title: String Quartet No.3 - Adagio

Composer: Kvandal, Johan

Performer(s): Oslo String Quartet

Album: Norwegian 20th Century String Quartets

Duration: 9:26


Title: One Day At A Time

Composer: Bibb / Scott

Performer(s): Eric Bibb (Vocal, Acoustic Guitar), Chinika Simon (Backing Vocals), Glenn Scott (Backing Vocals), Neville Malcolm (Upright Bass), Michael Jerome Browne (Fretless Gourd Banjo)

Album: Jericho Road

Duration: 2:55


Title: Dirty Old Town

Composer: MacColl, Ewen

Performer(s): Prs

Album: Cooking Vinyl Sampler 6

Duration: 2:49


Title: Baby Have Pity On Me

Composer: Williams / Mol

Performer(s): Aaron Diehl (Piano), James Chirillo (Guitar, Banjo), Rodney Whitaker (Dbl Bass), Herlin Riley (Drums)

Album: Woman Child

Duration: 3:18


Title: Sombras

Composer: Saluzzi, Dino

Performer(s): Dino Saluzzi Group

Album: El Valle de la Infancia

Duration: 7:44


Title: Five Melodies - V. Andante Non Troppo

Composer: Prokofiev, Serge

Performer(s): Steven Osborne (Piano)

Album: Prokofiev - Violin Sonatas, Five Melodies

Duration: 3:16


Title: Spring Dance

Composer: Micus, Stephan

Performer(s): Stephan Micus (Bass Zither, Chord Zither), Stephan Micus (Bavarian Zither, Nohkan)

Album: Bold As Light

Duration: 5:00


Title: The Jenny Spin

Composer: Phelps, Kelly Joe

Performer(s): Kelly Joe Phelps (Guitars)

Album: Western Bell - Kelly Joe Phelps

Duration: 4:47


Title: You Brought A New Kind Of Love To Me

Composer: Fain / Kahal / Norman

Performer(s): Frank Sinatra (Vocals), Nelson Riddle And His Orch

Album: Frank Sinatra - Songs for Swingin' Lovers

Duration: 2:49


Title: Solid Air

Composer: Martyn, John

Performer(s): John Martyn (Vocal, Guitar), John Bundrick (Keyboards), Tristan Fry (Vibes), Tony Coe (Sax) Et Al

Album: Solid Air (Recordno: IMCD 274548147-2)

Duration: 5:46


Title: Skilningi

Composer: Mishenko, Misha

Performer(s): Misha Mishenko (Piano)

Album: Strakur sem spilar mea vindi

Duration: 3:42


Title: Spiegel Im Spiegel

Composer: Part, Arvo

Performer(s): Tasmin Little (Violin), Martin Roscoe (Piano)

Album: Tabula Rasa - Arvo Part

Duration: 8:15


Title: Paschalis Admirabilis

Composer: Traditional

Performer(s): Ensemble Organum

Album: Corsican Chant

Duration: 4:18


Title: Long After The Music Is Gone

Composer: Mac Erlaine, Sean

Performer(s): Sean Mac Erlaine

Album: Long After the Music Is Gone

Duration: 3:55


Title: Chloris

Composer: Godard, Michel

Performer(s): Michel Godard (Tuba, Serpent), Gavion Murgia (Voice, Soprano Sax), Walter Quintus (Sound Engineer)

Album: Deep

Duration: 3:47


Title: Goodbye

Composer: Jenkins, Gordon

Performer(s): Monty Budwig (Bass), Shelly Manne (Drums)

Album: Empathy + A Simple Matter Of Conviction

Duration: 5:11



Contact the Show

Text '51554'

Presenters: Eamonn Lenihan (Fri-Sun)

Producer: Ian McGlynn


Ways to Listen

Radio Player