The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

    Nightly, 10pm - 1am

    Coming up on the next programme...

    Apr 13. This Sunday night's line-up includes Debussy's "Reverie" and part of Satie's "Gnossiennes"; 2 singer-songwriters covering material by John Martyn (as well as the man himself); a piece for guitar by Agustin Barrios Mangoré; new music by Colin Vallon and Bugge Wesseltoft; Richard Thompson and Scott Walker; a tune by Mose Allison (pictured); 2 compositions by J.S. Bach; sax-player Zoot Sims; Norwegian jazz pianist/composer Jon Balke; the slow movement of a Mendelssohn string quartet; and the last of the week's recordings by T-Bone Walker (see BLUE TUNES, below). 10pm...

    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan Saturday 18 May 2013


    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

    Inspired by Finnish folk, Timo Alakotila is a contemporary composer/pianist whose varied musical gems are unveiled this week on the Blue.

    Blue Tunes Recommended -

    T-Bone Walker: April 7th - 13th

    Blues guitarist T-Bone Walker is one of the most influential musicians to rise up from the fertile Texas blues scene. The first man to go electric, his impact on blues guitar worldwide was huge. This week, Blue features T-Bone from his days with Capitol Records in the 40’s through to his Grammy Winner in 70’s and - especially - recordings made for Imperial Records during the 1950s.

    Music Played on the Show

    • 09:00 p.m.
      Title: O Beijo
      Performer(s): Braga / Moreira / Medeiros
      Duration: 0:04:55
    • 09:05 p.m.
      Title: Solofaka
      Performer(s): Rakotobe, A. Dr.
      Duration: 0:03:40
    • 09:08 p.m.
      Title: Three Pieces For Strings: Pastoral
      Performer(s): Kelly, Thomas C
      Duration: 0:02:27
    • 09:11 p.m.
      Title: Domine Deus (Gloria)
      Performer(s): Vivaldi, Antonio
      Duration: 0:05:14
    • 09:15 p.m.
      Title: Piano Concerto No 11 In F Major - Ii Movement Larghetto
      Performer(s): Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
      Duration: 0:07:21
    • 09:24 p.m.
      Title: Airplane Blues
      Performer(s): Jackson / Kelson
      Duration: 0:02:47
    • 09:27 p.m.
      Title: Paris, Texas
      Performer(s): Cooder, Ry
      Duration: 0:03:12
    • 09:30 p.m.
      Title: Postcards From Hell
      Performer(s): Wood, O. / Wood, C.
      Duration: 0:04:59
    • 09:35 p.m.
      Title: Cello Suite No.1 In G Bwv1007 (1st Movement) Prelude
      Performer(s): Bach, Johann Sebastian
      Duration: 0:02:31
    • 09:37 p.m.
      Title: Romanza - Poco Adagio
      Performer(s): Saint-Saens, Camille
      Duration: 0:08:02
    • 09:46 p.m.
      Title: (I Wonder) Where Our Love Has Gone
      Performer(s): Johnson, Buddy
      Duration: 0:05:09
    • 09:51 p.m.
      Title: It's Me, O Lord (Standin' In The Need Of Prayer)
      Performer(s): Traditional
      Duration: 0:05:36
    • 09:57 p.m.
      Title: Deeper Understanding
      Performer(s): Bush, Kate
      Duration: 0:06:48
    • 10:04 p.m.
      Title: Those Sweet And Funny Nights
      Performer(s): Not Stated
      Duration: 0:04:58
    • 10:09 p.m.
      Title: White House Blues
      Performer(s): Traditional
      Duration: 0:03:49
    • 10:13 p.m.
      Title: Mother Mine In Fold-Fold
      Performer(s): Traditional / John Hearne
      Duration: 0:03:53
    • 10:16 p.m.
      Title: The First Cut Is The Deepest
      Performer(s): Stephens
      Duration: 0:03:51
    • 10:20 p.m.
      Title: Zodiac Trio
      Performer(s): Mathias, William
      Duration: 0:03:37
    • 10:25 p.m.
      Title: Concerto For 2 Pianos In C Minor (2nd Movement) Adagio
      Performer(s): Bach, Johann Sebastian
      Duration: 0:05:23
    • 10:30 p.m.
      Title: O Sacrum Convivium
      Performer(s): Messiaen, Olivier
      Duration: 0:04:23
    • 10:35 p.m.
      Title: May Morning
      Performer(s): Waterson/Carthy
      Duration: 0:05:57
    • 10:41 p.m.
      Title: Chapel Files
      Performer(s): Hollenbeck, John
      Duration: 0:06:56
    • 10:48 p.m.
      Title: Piano Sonata No.1 In F Minor (2nd Movement) Adagio
      Performer(s): Beethoven, Ludwig Van
      Duration: 0:05:53
    • 10:54 p.m.
      Title: Serenade In C Major For String Trio - Romanza: Adagio Non Troppo
      Performer(s): Dohnanyi, Erno
      Duration: 0:03:59
    • 10:58 p.m.
      Title: Suite For Flute And Orchestra (2nd Movement) Idylle
      Performer(s): Godard, Benjamin
      Duration: 0:04:49
    • 11:15 p.m.
      Title: Lazy Afternoon
      Performer(s): Latouche / Moross
      Duration: 0:08:00
    • 11:23 p.m.
      Title: Studio No.12 In A Major - Andante
      Performer(s): Sor, Fernando
      Duration: 0:04:59
    • 11:28 p.m.
      Title: Yellow
      Performer(s): Berryman/Buckland/Champion/Martin
      Duration: 0:04:13
    • 11:31 p.m.
      Title: The Chase (Variations On Mussorgsky's Old Castle From Pictures A
      Performer(s): Amos, Tori
      Duration: 0:03:18
    • 11:35 p.m.
      Title: Ballad Of The Sad Young Men
      Performer(s): Landesman / Wolf
      Duration: 0:06:21

    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan

    Latest Show

    The Blue of the Night with Eamonn Lenihan on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule