Sunday, 8 - 10pm

    Nova presents the World Premiere of Pauline Oliveros’ The Mystery Beyond Matter

    Quiet Music Ensemble, in association with RTÉ lyric fm, will perform the world premiere of Pauline Oliveros’ new work The Mystery Beyond Matter on Sunday 27th April at 8pm in Studio 1, RTE, Donnybrook, Dublin 4.

    Commissioned by Quiet Music Ensemble with funds made available by the Arts Council of Ireland, The Mystery Beyond Matter is a major new work from one of the world’s most influential composers and performers, an independent and pioneering spirit who has been at the cutting edge of musical and technical innovation for many decades. The composition is for improvising musicians and sound engineer, live electronics, multi channel audio and unusual venues including radio and internet. Quiet Music Ensemble is Ireland’s leading Experimental music group, which has been breaking radical new ground since 2008, and recently performed to a sell-out crowd at the prestigious Huddersfield Festival of Contemporary Music.

    Tickets are no longer available for this concert. However you can listen live on 96-99 RTÉ lyric fm, or via the RTÉ Player.

    Nova Sunday 13 October 2013



    Nova is about new music, chronicling what's radical and what's conservative, who's established and who's in the avant garde. Tweet: @bernardnova


    hearSpace is a new interactive piece of radio art composed for and through Irish radio by Karen Power. Based on the idea of exploring the sounds of a particular time, place and memory, hearSpace was broadcast on March 23rd at 9pm, and we had a great reaction to the work. Thank you everybody who sent in the beautiful and evocative sound-recordings that made hearSpace so special.

    Listen to hearSpace on the RTE Player

    RTÉ is not responsible for the content of external websites

    Music Played on the Show

    • 08:00 p.m.
      Title: of pulses and times
      Performer(s): Hagan, Kerry
      Performer(s): Hagan, Kerry
      Duration: 0:06:09
    • 08:08 p.m.
      Title: 5th Symphony fourth movement
      Performer(s): Branca, Glenn
      Performer(s): Branca, Glenn
      Duration: 0:07:58
    • 08:17 p.m.
      Title: As they step into the same rivers
      Performer(s): Kyriakides, Yannis
      Performer(s): Kyriakides, Yannis
      Duration: 0:12:42
    • 08:32 p.m.
      Title: Bee-ing a meeting with bees
      Performer(s): Fernstrom, Mikael; Taylor, Sean
      Performer(s): Fernstrom, Mikael; Taylor, Sean
      Duration: 0:11:49
    • 08:47 p.m.
      Title: agora
      Performer(s): Torre, Giuseppe
      Performer(s): Torre, Giuseppe
      Duration: 0:11:16
    • 09:02 p.m.
      Title: Dry
      Performer(s): Gordon, Micheal
      Performer(s): Gordon, Micheal
      Duration: 0:17:45


    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Nova on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule