Movies and Musicals

    Saturday, 1 - 4pm

    Podcasts

    Saturday 15th November

    Movie News Sat 15th Nov

    Rocky is back! A George Lucas animation project, casting news for Robert de Niro and there's no stopping Clint Eastwood! All the latest movie news with Garret Daly.

    Saturday 8th November

    Movie News Sat 8th Nov

    Casting news for Henry Cavill, Laura Dern and Daniel Radcliffe and film festival news at home and abroad with Garret Daly

    Saturday 1st November

    Movie News Sat 1st Nov

    Do you like scary TV? Garret Daly has a story for you. Plus a new Orson Welles film, casting news for Renée Zellweger and all the latest film releases

    Saturday 25th October

    Movie News Sat 25th Oct

    Meryl Streep and Hugh Grant together at last..Kim Basinger and Russell Crowe together again...and all the latest film news from home and abroad with Garret Daly

    Saturday 18th October

    Movie News Sat 18th Oct

    Garret Daly brings us some early Oscars buzz, a Care Bears reboot, a TV project for director Steve McQueen and all the latest movie releases

    Saturday 11th October

    Movie News Sat 11th Oct

    Tales of Robin Hood, too many sequels, Spielberg back at work and sinister screenings for Halloween...all on the Movie News with Garret Daly

    Saturday 4th October

    Movie News Sat 4th Oct

    Casting news for Alec Baldwin and Kevin Spacey, a 'Big' remake, a TV project for director David Fincher and all the new releases with Garret Daly

    Saturday 27th September

    Movie News Sat 27th Sept

    Tarantino's new Western, filming plans for the Neil Armstrong biopic, casting news for Aaron Paul and festival news from Cork. All on the Movie News with Garret Daly

    Saturday 20th September

    Movie News Sat 20th Sept

    News from Dingle..and Middle-Earth....Bond is back and so is Ben-Hur....all the latest movie news with Garret Daly.

    Saturday 13th September

    Movie News Sat 13th Sept

    A new project for director Paul Greengrass, casting news for Jessica Chastain and is Katie Holmes going behind the camera?

    Saturday 6th September

    Movie News Sat 6th Sept

    Garret Daly on Jack Sparrow, Dingle, The Wire and latest film release dates..

    Saturday 30th August

    Movie News Sat 30th Aug

    Garret Daly tells us about a prequel to the film 'Shutter Island' on the small screen, a call for young film critics, two Irish film festivals and a tribute night for John Boorman

    Saturday 23rd August

    Movie News Sat. 23rd Aug

    Spielberg's small screen project, a new role for Steve Martin, good news for an Irish film and...yes...Alvin and the Chipmunks are back!

    Saturday 16th August

    Movie News Sat 16th Aug

    A regal role for Jamie Dornan? Avoiding 'Spoilers', The Charlie Chaplin Film Festival and Junior Fleadh news...

    Saturday 9th August

    Movie News Sat 9th August

    Garret Daly on Terry Gilliam's dream project. A deal for the big screen for The Vampire Chronicles, casting news for Tom Cruise and an interesting new Irish film...

    Saturday 26th July

    Movie News Sat 26th July

    Movie news today with Garret Daly features Toronto selections, Irish production & casting news and much more

    Saturday 19th July

    Movie News Sat 19th July

    Garret Daly on fliming in Limerick, a new film festival in Cliften, Power Rangers and Drive-in movies

    Saturday 12th July

    Movie News Sat 12th July

    Garret Daly talks to us live from The Galway Film Fleadh bringing us local and international movie news

    Saturday 28th June

    Movie News Saturday 28th June

    Galway Film Fleadh, casting news for Ewan McGregor & Zach Perlman, The Emmy Awards & new releases

    Saturday 21st June

    Movie News 21st June

    This week Garret spots a Jedi, a new role for Oprah, the latest on Entourage and a new project for Aaron Sorkin....

    Saturday 14th June

    Movie News Sat 14th June

    Star Wars news, a new project for David Fincher, a good week for animation and the latest from The Galway Film Fleadh

    Saturday 7th June

    Movie News 7th June

    A remake of Gremlins? Forrest Gump and Ghostbusters celebrate anniversaries and what has David O. Russell decided on for his next project?

    Saturday 24th May

    Movie News Sat 24th May

    A Whitney Houston Movie, The John Ford Ireland Symposium, Storyland, Tarantino in Cannes and all the latest releases

    Saturday 17th May

    Movie News Sat 17th May

    A new role for Chiwetel Ejiofor in a great thriller, casting news for the screen adaptation of 'Room'. A new project for Jane Campion and pitching in Galway...

    Saturday 10th May

    Movie News Sat 10th May

    Point Break remake, a feud for 'Grace of Monaco', casting news for latest Woody Allen film and Spike Lee film to be made into a TV series...

    Saturday 3rd May

    Movie News Sat 3rd May

    Dad's Army, DC Comics, Casting news for Reese WItherspoon & Michael Fassbender all the latest releases and more...

    Saturday 26th April

    Movie News Sat 26th April

    It's a small world for Disney, Marilyn on the big screen, a new thriller for the director or Total Recall and the latest news from Cannes with Garret Daly

    Saturday 19th April

    Movie News Sat 19th April

    Flash Gordon! Sharon Stone! Frank! All the latest movie news with Garret Daly

    Saturday 12th April

    Movie News Sat 12th April

    Lots of Irish film news this week with a new Eoin Colfer film, success for Irish Indie film 'Limp', reaction to the IFTAS and all the latest releases.

    Saturday 5th April

    Movie News Sat 5th April

    Garret has all the latest on filming projects taking place in Ireland, the Limerick Film Festival , casting news and the latest on Star Wars...

    Saturday 29th March

    Interview with composer Patrick Doyle

    Aedín talks to Patrick Doyle about scoring the films of Kenneth Branagh and working with directors Ang Lee and Robert Altman

    Movie News Sat 29th March

    This week we do indeed talk more Indiana films, Magic Mikes and Winnie the Poo. Also Andy Serkis as director...

    Saturday 22nd March

    Movie News 22nd March

    Who ye gonna call? Ghostbusters re-boot? Latest news from Disney, movie stars on stage in London and an exciting TV project for Sally Hawkins

    Saturday 15th March

    Movie News Sat 15th March

    Drive-in cinema in Dublin, another gangster role for Johnny Depp, what's next for Ciaran Hinds on the big screen, and all the latest movie releases with Garret Daly

    Saturday 8th March

    Movie News Sat 8th March

    An Oscars round up with Garret Daly on his return from LA

    Saturday 1st March

    Oscars Night at the Roosevelt

    Oscars night with Garret Daly and guests at the historic Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel site of the first Academy Awards.

    Movie News Sat 1st March

    Garret Daly brings us all the Oscars Buzz live from LA!

    Saturday 22nd February

    Movie News Sat 22nd Feb

    This week we chat about Terry Gilliam, Bond, Angry Birds and Being George Clooney...

    Saturday 15th February

    Movie News 15th Feb

    This week Ron Howard thinks about heading into the jungle. We consider movies online as well in cinemas, and the shark still looks fake... its Sharknado 2

    Saturday 8th February

    Movie News Sat 8th Feb

    The sa passing of Philip Seymour Hoffman, the screen adaptation of 'The Secret Scripture' by Sebastian Barry and Leo & Jonah working together again?

    Saturday 1st February

    Movie News Sat 1st Feb

    This week we explore the world of trailers in cinemas and online, plus King Arthur on the big screen again and a trip down the yellow brick road at The Oscars!

    Saturday 25th January

    Movie News 25th Jan

    This week news from the 'Jameson Dublin International Film Festival' with lots to celebrate in terms of Irish film releases. A bio pic to open the 'Cannes Film Festival and all the latest movie releases this week

    Saturday 18th January

    Movie News Saturday 18 Jan

    This week Oscar snubs, cinema going on the rise in China, directors walking out and TV shows moving to the big screen.

    Saturday 11th January

    Movie News Sat 11th January

    It's Awards Season! Garret has all the latest news and gossip!

    Saturday 21st December

    Movie News Sat 21st Dec

    Last minute movie themed presents..some very unusual! Plus latest cinema releases and Christmas movies to look forward to on TV over the festive season!

    Saturday 14th December

    Movie News Sat 14th Dec

    This week, unique greeting cards for the film fan in your life, TV has been a dominant force in 2013, Irish films at the Sundance Film Festival and movies and our mental health..

    Saturday 7th December

    Movie News Sat 7th Dec

    Were animals harmed? Awards after life, and smoking laws in the Indian film industry. All on the movie news.

    Saturday 30th November

    Movie News 30th November

    This week we kick off the award announcements, talk film durations and see what prop has sold big in auction. All on the movie news.

    Saturday 23rd November

    Movie News Sat 23rd Nov

    More records are broken, Winona goes back 27 years and Spielberg donations...

    Saturday 16th November

    Movie News Sat 16th Nov

    This week on Movie News, box office records, interesting projects ahead for Idris Elba, Netflix turn studio again and The Princess Bride on the stage...

    Saturday 9th November

    Movie News Saturday 9th Nov

    Pirated movies, an awful franchise idea Ed Burns new cop series and Oscar buzz re nominations for Best Animated Film.

    Saturday 2nd November

    Movie News Sat 2nd Nov

    It's on....it's off..it's on again..Entourage the Movie. Plus more sequels and remakes than you could shake a Razzie at. And to save us all ...Scorsese's new film has a release date!

    How to Get this Podcast

    1. Download and Install Podcast Software You will have to download and install software to be able to subscribe to podcasts, and download the latest shows. There are a number of freely downloadable programmes that allow you to access podcasts. Some of the most popular applications are iTunes, Juice and Doppler, for a list of more options go to www.podcastingnews.com. RTÉ is not resposible for the content of external websites or applications.
    2. Subscribe to this Podcast Copy the URL from below or from the address bar of this page and then insert it into your podcast software, look for an ADD or SUBSCRIBE option and follow the instructions. URL: Your software will automatically inform you of any new editions to the podcast without the need to subscribe again. If you have iTunes installed you can use this One Click Subscription.
    3. Listen to your podcast

      The podcast will be downloaded in mp3 format or mp4 if it's video, once the download is fully complete you can simply listen to or watch the programme on your computer, or transfer the file to a portable device (mp3 player, iPod etc) and listen to it at your convenience.

    Movies and Musicals

    Latest Show

    Movies and Musicals on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule