Movies and Musicals

Movies and Musicals

Saturday, 1 - 4pm

Podcasts

Saturday 3rd December

Movie News Sat 3rd Dec

Awards news, casting for Jurassic World sequel, director named for Houdini biopic, Irish film news for filming of Black 47 and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 26th November

Lin-Manuel Miranda Interview -Sat 26/11/'16

Aedín Gormley talks to Lin-Manuel Miranda, the American actor, composer, rapper & writer, best known for creating & starring in the Broadway musical 'Hamilton'. He has just co-written the songs for the new Disney feature ‘Moana’.

Movie News Sat 26th Nov

A new project for Peter Jackson, a Richard Pryor biopic, Actress Jessica Chastain to produce, Galway’s 100 Years of Irish cinema, silent film at The IFI and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 19th November

Movie News Sat 19th Nov 2016

Casting news for Liam Neeson and Matt Damon, Colin Farrell back with ‘Lobster’ director Yorgos Lanthimos, a new project for director Robert Zemeckis, Sesame Street for the big screen, all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 12th November

Movie News Sat 12th Nov

What to look out for at the Cork Film Festival, a new role for Robert de Niro, a remake of An American Werewolf in London, revisiting Willy Wonka and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 5th November

Movie News Sat 5th Nov

A new project for Paul Feig, casting news for Dan Stevens, Meryl Streep to be honoured at The Golden Globes, a back to the future prediction and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 29th October

Movie News Sat 29th Oct 2016

Casting new for Jack O’Connell, the story of Jazz age icon Zelda Fitzgerald, Glenn Close back on Broadway, a new project for Peter Jackson, The Cork Film Festivaland all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 15th October

Movie News Sat 15th Oct

A new project for Clint Eastwood, an award for Tom Hanks, Netflix takes on a fact based drama, an archive screening at the IFI, casting new fro Miranda Hart and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 8th October

Movie News Sat 8th Oct

Christopher Walken and Robert de Niro together again, casting news for Jude Law ,Rooney Mara and Kit Harington, a John Carpenter Retrospective, a Disney plan and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 1st October

Movie News Sat 1st Oct

Casting news for Daisy Ridley, an award for Jodie Foster, Martin Scorsese’s ‘Silence’, a film festival in the Kingdom and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 24th September

Movie News Sat 24th Sept

Mark Wahlberg and David O. Russell team up again, casting news for Rooney Mara, screenwriting in Mayo, a Magnum P.I. reboot and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 17th September

Movie News Sat 17th Sept

Tom Ford in Toronto, casting news for Kathryn Bigelow’s new movie, a spooky take for Helen Mirren , a sit-com set for the stage and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 3rd September

Movie News Sat 3rd Sept

A new project for ‘Boyhood’ filmmaker Rickard Linklater, an Irish lead in a new sci-fi thriller, casting news for Anne Hathaway and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 20th August

Movie News Sat 20th Aug 2016

Casting news for Ben Affleck, Keanu Reaves and Aaron Paul, Irish Filming, the Junior Fleadh, Godzilla and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 23rd July

Movie News Sat 23rd July

News from Comic Con, Star Trek, Jurassic World, new Irish documentaries, a new project for director John Crowley and all the latest releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 16th July

Movie News Sat 16th July 2016

A new project for Woody Harrelson, the story of Irving Berlin to hit the screen, Pokeman Go, Fargo 3, a look back at The Galway Film Fleadh and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 9th July

Movie News Sat 9th July 2016

A screen adaptation of a rediscovered novel, Star Wars News, reaction to The BFG, The Irish Film Board reveal their five year plan and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 2nd July

Movie News Sat 2nd July 2016

The latest on the Blade Runner sequel, casting news for Daniel Craig and Halle Berry, anticipated films of the summer and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 18th June

Movie News Sat 18th June

All the latest news ahead of the 28th Galway Film Fleadh in July, the IFI open day, Nicole Kidman on the small screen and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 11th June

Movie News Sat 11th June 2016

Casting news for Jennifer Lawrence, Kate Winslet and Idris Elba. John Williams is set to score another Indiana Jones film, documentary maker Michael Moore is in town and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 28th May

Movie News Sat 28th May

Tom Ford to direct again, Shakespeare at the IFI, a new Chris O’Dowd project, Pitching for Galway, Star Wars in Kerry and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 21st May

Movie News Sat 21st May

Casting news for John Cusack and Ellen Page, Terry Gilliam returns to an old story, Transformers news and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 14th May

Movie News Sat 14th May

A Chinese superhero film, casting news for Morgan Freeman and Tommy Lee Jones , a new Irish comedy and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 7th May

Movie News Sat 7th May

An Oscar Pistorius documentary, casting news for Andrew Garfield and Daisy Ridley, Russell Crowe in The Mummy and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 23rd April

Movie News Sat 23rd April

Casting news for Domhnall and Brian Gleeson, a small screen project for Mel Gibson, Daisey and JJ, a new role for young Jacob Tremblay and all the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 16th April

Movie News Sat 16th April 2016

A new project for Sam Mendes, film rights for ‘Pokemon’, The RTECO records a new score, and will the rules be broken regarding texting in cinemas?! All the new releases too with Garret Daly

Saturday 9th April

Movie News Sat 9th April

A Tom Cruise sequel, casting news for Charlize Theron and Guy Pearce, an interesting biopic from Netflix and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 2nd April

Movie News Saturday 2nd April

New projects for Lenny Abrahamson, Sicario 2, NASA drama, rising stars and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 26th March

Movie News Sat 26th March

Casting news for Kevin James and Margot Robbie, a TV version of the Tom Ripley series, a new version of the cult classic Jacobs Ladder and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 19th March

Movie News Sat 19th March

The return of Indiana Jones, a new Spielberg film, the Screening Room debate, Frozen 2 and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 12th March

Angela Lansbury Public Interview

Aedín Gormley's public interview with star of stage and screen Angela Lansbury at The Bord Gais Energy Theatre last month as part of on the Audi Dublin International Film Festival.

Movie News Sat 12th March

Damien Chazelle’s ‘La La Land’, casting news for J.K. Simmons & Geena Davis, two new Irish films to check out and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 5th March

Movie News Sat 5th March

The Cork French Film Festival, new projects for Kevin Costner and Steven Soderbergh, the return of High School Musical and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 20th February

Movie News Sat 20th Feb

News on the new Woody Allen film, casting news for Christian Bale, Keira Knightley & Jessica Chastain, Blade Runner 2 and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 13th February

Movie News Sat 13th Feb

A new film from Irish writer and director Martin McDonagh, news on Transformers, Lethal Weapon, 20th Anniversary celebrations for Michael Collins and all the latest releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 6th February

Movie News Sat 6th Feb

Casting news for Keira Knightley, Naomi Watts and David Tennant, Leo the producer, Instagram TV and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 30th January

Movie News Sat 30th Jan

The return of Matt Damon in the Bourne series, House of Cards is back, a new project for Kathryn Bigelow, 2016 plans at the IFI and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 23rd January

Movie News Sat 23rd Jan

Latest news on the next Star Wars and Avatar films, new projects for Johnny Depp and Tom Cruise, an Alexander McQueen biopic and all the new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 16th January

Movie News Sat 16th Jan

Garret Daly brings us up to date with all the latest Irish Oscar buzz and some great new releases this week

Saturday 2nd January

Movie News Sat Jan 2nd

Garret Daly looks ahead to the films we can look forward to seeing in 2016 and there are some good ones in there!

Saturday 19th December

Movie News Sat 19th Dec

Festive Film themed Christmas present ideas with Garret Daly!

Saturday 12th December

Movie News Sat 12th Dec

A great year for Netflix, Irish films set for Sundance, casting news for Benedict Cumberbatch, Ang Lee and Ali and all the latest movie news and gossip with Garret Daly

Saturday 5th December

Movie News Sat 5th Dec

Another Anchorman? A Rambo re-boot? All the latest movie news and gossip with Garret Daly

Saturday 28th November

Movie News Sat 28th Nov

Casting news on the Neil Armstrong bio-pic, nominations for the ‘Independent Spirit Awards’, Bollywood takes on a Hollywood hit, TV re-boots and more with Garret Daly

Saturday 21st November

Movie News Sat 21st Nov

Mission Impossible news! Star Wars news! Casting news for Oscar Isaac and Kathy Bates and more with Garret Daly

Saturday 14th November

Movie News Sat 14th Nov

Casting news for Will Smith, Tilda Swinton and Maria Carey, but not on the same project! The latest on the animated adaptation of The Little Prince and all the latest new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 7th November

Movie News Sat 7th Nov

News from The Cork Film Festival, an Amy Winehouse biopic, lots of casting news and all the latest new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 31st October

Movie News Sat 31st Oct

Garret Daly kicks off with a scary story that would frighten any film producer, casting news for Sandra Bullock and Billy Bob Thornton, a new film festival entitled ‘Rewind’ and all the latest new releases

Saturday 24th October

Movie News Sat 24th Oct

Pay issues in Hollywood, Alec Baldwin and Demi Moore reunite on screen casting news for Brendan Gleeson and all the latest new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 17th October

Movie News Sat 17th Oct

Garret Daly fills us in on The Cork Film Festival, the latest Bridget Jones news, a new project for Jennifer Lawrence and Denzel steps behind the camera

Saturday 10th October

Movie News Sat 10th Oct

Casting news for the Harry Potter follow-up, filming of ‘The Journey’ in Belfast, a ‘Flatliners’ reboot, the Irish historical drama series ‘Rebellion’ and all the latest new releases with Garret Daly

Saturday 3rd October

Movie News Sat 3rd Oct

Garret Daly brings us latest news on a sequel for ‘Trainspotting’, Jeff Daniels and Michelle Williams starring together on Broadway, Tarantino’s preference for VHS and all the latest film releases

How to Get this Podcast

  1. Download and Install Podcast Software

    You will have to download and install software to be able to subscribe to podcasts, and download the latest shows. There are a number of freely downloadable programmes that allow you to access podcasts. Some of the most popular applications are iTunes, Juice and Doppler, for a list of more options go to www.podcastingnews.com. RTÉ is not resposible for the content of external websites or applications.

  2. Subscribe to this Podcast

    Copy the URL from below or from the address bar of this page and then insert it into your podcast software, look for an ADD or SUBSCRIBE option and follow the instructions. URL: Your software will automatically inform you of any new editions to the podcast without the need to subscribe again. If you have iTunes installed you can use this One Click Subscription.

  3. Listen to your podcast

    The podcast will be downloaded in mp3 format or mp4 if it's video, once the download is fully complete you can simply listen to or watch the programme on your computer, or transfer the file to a portable device (mp3 player, iPod etc) and listen to it at your convenience.

Twitter

Facebook

Contact the Show

movies.lyricfm@rte.ie

Text '51554'

Presenter: Aedín Gormley

Producer: Eoin O'Kelly

Production Co-ordinator: Linda McGlynn

Schedule

Ways to Listen

Radio
Mobile
Internet
Radio Player
Podcasts
TV