Movies and Musicals

    Saturday, 1 - 4pm

    Podcasts

    Saturday 19th April

    Movie News Sat 19th April

    Flash Gordon! Sharon Stone! Frank! All the latest movie news with Garret Daly

    Saturday 12th April

    Movie News Sat 12th April

    Lots of Irish film news this week with a new Eoin Colfer film, success for Irish Indie film 'Limp', reaction to the IFTAS and all the latest releases.

    Saturday 5th April

    Movie News Sat 5th April

    Garret has all the latest on filming projects taking place in Ireland, the Limerick Film Festival , casting news and the latest on Star Wars...

    Saturday 29th March

    Interview with composer Patrick Doyle

    Aedín talks to Patrick Doyle about scoring the films of Kenneth Branagh and working with directors Ang Lee and Robert Altman

    Movie News Sat 29th March

    This week we do indeed talk more Indiana films, Magic Mikes and Winnie the Poo. Also Andy Serkis as director...

    Saturday 22nd March

    Movie News 22nd March

    Who ye gonna call? Ghostbusters re-boot? Latest news from Disney, movie stars on stage in London and an exciting TV project for Sally Hawkins

    Saturday 15th March

    Movie News Sat 15th March

    Drive-in cinema in Dublin, another gangster role for Johnny Depp, what's next for Ciaran Hinds on the big screen, and all the latest movie releases with Garret Daly

    Saturday 8th March

    Movie News Sat 8th March

    An Oscars round up with Garret Daly on his return from LA

    Saturday 1st March

    Oscars Night at the Roosevelt

    Oscars night with Garret Daly and guests at the historic Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel site of the first Academy Awards.

    Movie News Sat 1st March

    Garret Daly brings us all the Oscars Buzz live from LA!

    Saturday 22nd February

    Movie News Sat 22nd Feb

    This week we chat about Terry Gilliam, Bond, Angry Birds and Being George Clooney...

    Saturday 15th February

    Movie News 15th Feb

    This week Ron Howard thinks about heading into the jungle. We consider movies online as well in cinemas, and the shark still looks fake... its Sharknado 2

    Saturday 8th February

    Movie News Sat 8th Feb

    The sa passing of Philip Seymour Hoffman, the screen adaptation of 'The Secret Scripture' by Sebastian Barry and Leo & Jonah working together again?

    Saturday 1st February

    Movie News Sat 1st Feb

    This week we explore the world of trailers in cinemas and online, plus King Arthur on the big screen again and a trip down the yellow brick road at The Oscars!

    Saturday 25th January

    Movie News 25th Jan

    This week news from the 'Jameson Dublin International Film Festival' with lots to celebrate in terms of Irish film releases. A bio pic to open the 'Cannes Film Festival and all the latest movie releases this week

    Saturday 18th January

    Movie News Saturday 18 Jan

    This week Oscar snubs, cinema going on the rise in China, directors walking out and TV shows moving to the big screen.

    Saturday 11th January

    Movie News Sat 11th January

    It's Awards Season! Garret has all the latest news and gossip!

    Saturday 21st December

    Movie News Sat 21st Dec

    Last minute movie themed presents..some very unusual! Plus latest cinema releases and Christmas movies to look forward to on TV over the festive season!

    Saturday 14th December

    Movie News Sat 14th Dec

    This week, unique greeting cards for the film fan in your life, TV has been a dominant force in 2013, Irish films at the Sundance Film Festival and movies and our mental health..

    Saturday 7th December

    Movie News Sat 7th Dec

    Were animals harmed? Awards after life, and smoking laws in the Indian film industry. All on the movie news.

    Saturday 30th November

    Movie News 30th November

    This week we kick off the award announcements, talk film durations and see what prop has sold big in auction. All on the movie news.

    Saturday 23rd November

    Movie News Sat 23rd Nov

    More records are broken, Winona goes back 27 years and Spielberg donations...

    Saturday 16th November

    Movie News Sat 16th Nov

    This week on Movie News, box office records, interesting projects ahead for Idris Elba, Netflix turn studio again and The Princess Bride on the stage...

    Saturday 9th November

    Movie News Saturday 9th Nov

    Pirated movies, an awful franchise idea Ed Burns new cop series and Oscar buzz re nominations for Best Animated Film.

    Saturday 2nd November

    Movie News Sat 2nd Nov

    It's on....it's off..it's on again..Entourage the Movie. Plus more sequels and remakes than you could shake a Razzie at. And to save us all ...Scorsese's new film has a release date!

    Saturday 19th October

    Movie News Sat 19th Oct

    This week, we keep pace with a new Lance Armstrong movie, we step into Jurassic World, and see what TV Danny Boyle is about to make...

    Saturday 12th October

    Movie News Sat 12th Oct

    This week on Movie News we talk about Emmys, the Irish documentary The Summit, plus Harrison Ford and the questions that follow him everywhere....

    Saturday 5th October

    Movie News Sat 5th Oct

    This week..everything from Cruella de Ville to Doctor Who, an Irish director on the rise and even some lens flare...

    Saturday 28th September

    Movie News Sat 28th Sept

    Good news for Irish actors in Ron Howards next movie, the future of HBO's 'The Newsroom' and a look at new releases in our Cinemas this week.

    Saturday 21st September

    Movie News 21st Sept

    Film festival fever this week from Toronto to Kerry! Plus Seth MacFarlane and his millions - just how does he spend it all?

    Saturday 14th September

    Movie News Sat 14th Sept

    This week, what's hot from Toronto, Zemeckis to work on live action again and lots of sequels on the way.

    Saturday 7th September

    Movie News Sat 7th Sept

    This week the film can returns to the set, Bill Murray and Tom Hardy casting news plus some Irish movie Mammies...

    Saturday 31st August

    MOVIE NEWS SAT 31 AUGUST

    This week on Movie News, we feature a movie that has been in the making for many many years, trouble with the latest Pixar film..and is Luther on the way to the big screen?

    Saturday 17th August

    Movie News Sat 17th Aug

    A special Movie News this week concentrating on what's happening in the Irish film scene at the moment...lots by the looks of things!

    Saturday 10th August

    Movie News Sat 10th August

    This week Robert De Niro and Meryl Streep back together again and MIssion Impossible goes for a 5th run with a new director...

    Saturday 3rd August

    MOVIE NEWS SAT 3rd AUGUST

    This week..more movie stars signing up for TV roles, Disney and Wexford connect and Ben Stiller looks set for the awards season..

    Saturday 27th July

    Movie News Sat 27th July

    This week, kickstarter for film funding, lots to look forward to at The Toronto Film Festival and more casting news for 'Interstellar'

    Saturday 20th July

    Movie News Sat 20th July

    The Simpsons meets Family Guy, Brad Bird's latest project and the return of The X Files?!

    Saturday 13th July

    MOVIE NEWS SAT 13th JULY

    This week news on Hobbits, Northern Ireland filming, Sligo racers and the film adaptation of the novel Gone Girl

    Saturday 6th July

    MOVIE NEWS 6th July

    Irish actors win roles in Ron Howard’s latest Seafaring epic, news of a busy James Franco and an interesting opening film at The 70th Venice International Film Festival.

    Saturday 29th June

    Movie News Sat 29th June

    Lots of casting news today, the latest from Marvel Studios and a look at new releases

    Saturday 8th June

    MOVIE NEWS SAT 8th JUNE

    This week on the movie news old films in Imax, young stars in conversation and Mel Gibson in a movie. The twists and turns of the movie world

    Saturday 1st June

    Movie News Sat 1st June

    This week we see if there is a James Dean movie on the way. We check out what might be filming in the Burren and Joseph Gordon Levitt gets behind the camera.

    Saturday 25th May

    Movie News 25th May

    This week on the movie news we see what Gabriel Byrne is getting up to and talk about a new film event in Dublin, KinoD.

    Saturday 18th May

    Movie News 18th May

    A look at two film festivals - Galway and Fastnet plus lots of latest casting news!

    Saturday 11th May

    Movie News 11052013

    Garret has lots of casting news this week and a round up of all the latest releases

    Saturday 4th May

    Saturday May 4th

    All this weeks' latest Movie News, courtesy of Garret Daly.

    How to Get this Podcast

    1. Download and Install Podcast Software You will have to download and install software to be able to subscribe to podcasts, and download the latest shows. There are a number of freely downloadable programmes that allow you to access podcasts. Some of the most popular applications are iTunes, Juice and Doppler, for a list of more options go to www.podcastingnews.com. RTÉ is not resposible for the content of external websites or applications.
    2. Subscribe to this Podcast Copy the URL from below or from the address bar of this page and then insert it into your podcast software, look for an ADD or SUBSCRIBE option and follow the instructions. URL: Your software will automatically inform you of any new editions to the podcast without the need to subscribe again. If you have iTunes installed you can use this One Click Subscription.
    3. Listen to your podcast

      The podcast will be downloaded in mp3 format or mp4 if it's video, once the download is fully complete you can simply listen to or watch the programme on your computer, or transfer the file to a portable device (mp3 player, iPod etc) and listen to it at your convenience.

    Movies and Musicals

    Latest Show

    Movies and Musicals on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule