Marty in the Morning.

    Monday to Friday, 7 - 10am

    And the winner of the fabulous trip to the Opera in Verona.
    was Karen Canning from Dublin.

    On Marty in the Morning we’re bringing you, thanks to Travel Department, the opportunity to join us in Verona on a fabulous trip to see Bizet's Carmen at the Arena di Verona.

    You and a partner will depart on June 19th next where you will experience the delights of the Verona Opera,  a fabulous trip to Venice and stay for 7 nights  in the Grand Hotel Liberty in Riva del Garda in Lake Garda.

    Due to the popularity of this holiday since we launched it last month here on the show with Brendan Breen of Travel Department, the trip is NOW sold out,  so this a fantastic opportunity to come with us to Verona with Travel Department.

    check out

    Marty in the Morning Friday 24 May 2013


    Marty in the Morning

    Join the dawn chorus with Marty for your Summer morning wake-up call with music, travel updates, competitions and news and weather.


    Neven's Recipies - One pot Chicken

    Chilli Chicken – One Pot Wonder

    Serves 8

    2 large onions halved and sliced

    2tbsp Rapeseed Oil

    250g Chorizo Thickly Sliced

    4 Red Peppers Deseeded and Cut into Chunks

    2 x 400 g cans of Chopped Tomatoes

    2 Chicken Stock Cubes

    1 small Red Chilli deseeded and sliced

    2 tsp Chopped Coriander

    16 Large Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs

    2 x 400 g cans Red Kidney Beans drained

    Pre heat the oven to 180°C/ Fan 160°/ Gas Mark 4. Fry the Onions in the oil for 5 minutes. Add the chorizo and fry for 2 minutes. Stir in the peppers, chilli, tomatoes, a ½ pint of water and coriander.

    Sit the chicken thighs in the sauce. Bring to a simmer. Then remove from the heat and bake in the oven for 40 minutes. Add the beans and stir. Then return to the oven for 20 minutes more.

    Garnish with fresh coriander sprigs and serve with rice.

    Music Played on the Show

    • 05:56 a.m.
      Title: Concerto In C Major For Two Trumpets (1st Movement) Allegro
      Performer(s): Vivaldi, Antonio
      Duration: 0:03:19
    • 06:00 a.m.
      Title: Mamma
      Performer(s): Cherubini/Bixio
      Duration: 0:03:45
    • 06:04 a.m.
      Title: Polovtsian Dance No.2
      Performer(s): Borodin, Alexander
      Duration: 0:03:52
    • 06:29 a.m.
      Title: Magic Moments
      Performer(s): Bacharach, Burt/David, Hal
      Duration: 0:02:52
    • 06:32 a.m.
      Title: Blue Tango
      Performer(s): Anderson, Leroy
      Duration: 0:03:18
    • 06:38 a.m.
      Title: Craith Na Cleita (Toss The Feathers)
      Performer(s): Traditional
      Duration: 0:04:49
    • 06:48 a.m.
      Title: Not Dark Yet
      Performer(s): Dylan, Bob
      Duration: 0:06:42
    • 07:01 a.m.
      Title: La Valse D'Amélie (Orchestral Version)
      Performer(s): Tiersen, Yann
      Duration: 0:02:15
    • 07:06 a.m.
      Title: Yellow
      Performer(s): Berryman/Buckland/Champion/Martin
      Duration: 0:04:13
    • 07:13 a.m.
      Title: Take The A Train
      Performer(s): Strayhorn, Billy
      Duration: 0:04:04
    • 07:18 a.m.
      Title: Chariots Of Fire - Main Theme
      Performer(s): Vangelis
      Duration: 0:04:27
    • 07:20 a.m.
      Title: Chariots Of Fire: Main Titles
      Performer(s): Vangelis
      Duration: 0:03:49
    • 07:31 a.m.
      Title: I Say A Little Prayer
      Performer(s): Bacharach/David
      Duration: 0:03:44
    • 07:36 a.m.
      Title: Chertkov Waltz
      Performer(s): Yevtushenko, Sergey
      Duration: 0:02:20
    • 07:43 a.m.
      Title: Knockin' On Heaven's Door
      Performer(s): Dylan, Bob
      Duration: 0:02:42
    • 07:52 a.m.
      Title: I Love Paris
      Performer(s): Porter, Cole
      Duration: 0:02:43
    • 08:00 a.m.
      Title: Die Walkure - The Ride Of The Valkyries
      Performer(s): Wagner, Richard
      Duration: 0:04:16
    • 08:12 a.m.
      Title: Pickin' A Chicken
      Performer(s): Roberts/Bernfield/De Mortimer
      Duration: 0:02:25
    • 08:21 a.m.
      Title: Two Sleepy People
      Performer(s): Carmichael, Hoagy/Loesser, Frank
      Duration: 0:04:43
    • 08:29 a.m.
      Title: Walk On By
      Performer(s): Bacharach, Burt/David, Hal
      Duration: 0:03:37
    • 08:32 a.m.
      Title: Morning, From Peer Gynt Suite No.1
      Performer(s): Grieg, Edvard
      Duration: 0:04:19
    • 08:44 a.m.
      Title: The Ugly Bug Ball
      Performer(s): Sherman/Sherman
      Duration: 0:03:10
    • 08:48 a.m.
      Title: The Folks Who Live On The Hill
      Performer(s): Kern, Jerome/Hammerstein Ii, Oscar
      Duration: 0:03:23
    • 08:51 a.m.
      Title: Mandolin Concerto - Allegro
      Performer(s): Vivaldi, Antonio
      Duration: 0:02:27
    • 08:54 a.m.
      Title: La Vie En Rose
      Performer(s): Louiguy/Piaf/David
      Duration: 0:03:36

    Marty in the Morning.

    Latest Show

    Programme Archive

    Marty in the Morning. on Twitter

    Schedule Open Schedule