Garth Brooks has announced a press conference this Thursday at 5.00pm Irish time which will be streamed live on his official website and which should deal with the on-going controversy surrounding his Croke Park concert dates.

Against a background of thunder and lightning, the homepage Brooks' official website reads: "Watch a LIVE STREAM of Garth's press conference at! Thursday, July 10th 12p EDT / 11a CDT / 9a PDT."

The country superstar issued an `all-or-nothing' ultimatum last week after Dublin City Council refused a licence for him to perform two of his planned five-night run in Dublin's Croke Park.

52-year-old Brooks is believed to be announcing his comeback world tour and possibly a new album on Thursday but, no doubt, any press conference would also deal with the vexed question of the sold-out Croke Park dates.

Discussions are on-going between residents around Croke Park, the GAA, Dublin City Council and Aiken Promotions but an accommodation or breakthrough has yet to be reached.