Andrew Lloyd-Webber has picked American songwriter Diane Warren to pen Britain's Eurovision entry, leaving some industry insiders upset that he did not choose a British writer.

Lord Lloyd-Webber announced on Saturday's BBC One show 'Your Country Needs You', that Warren will write the lyrics to accompany the music that he will compose.

Warren, whose hits include Toni Braxton's 'Un-Break My Heart', LeAnn Rimes's 'How Do I Live' and Aerosmith's 'I Don't Want to Miss a Thing', said she is thrilled to be working with Lloyd Webber and hopes that it will spell a change of fortune for the UK.

But the writer behind Brotherhood of Man's 'Save All Your Kisses For Me', which won the 1976 Eurovision Song Contest, is not so thrilled.

Tony Hiller, the six time Ivor Novello award winning songwriter, said that a British lyricist should have been chosen.

A BBC spokeswoman said that there are no specific Eurovision rules regarding the nationality of the songwriting team.

Andrew Lloyd Webber said: "I am very excited to be working with Diane Warren, one of America's greatest songwriters. This is a massively new direction for me and I cannot wait to get started."

Last year's British entry - former X Factor contestant Andy Abraham - finished joint bottom of the scoreboard and it is 12 years since the UK won the contest.

Club singer Damien Flood was voted off Saturday’s programme after Lloyd Webber chose to save 17-year-old Charlotte Finlay-Tribe.

The winning act will represent the UK in Moscow on 16 May.