Ash have announced that the title of their new album will be 'Meltdown'. reports that frontman Tim Wheeler told UK radio station XFM that the album was the heaviest material Ash had ever recorded.

A track from the album, 'Clones', will be available as a download single next month.

Other songs set to feature on 'Meltdown' are 'Renegade Cavalcade', 'Evil Eye', 'On a Wave' and 'Solace'.

Ash are also one of the bands featured on the 10th anniversary album of UK indie label Fierce Panda.

They contribute an early version of 'Punkboy' to 'Decade: Ten Years of Fierce Panda'.