The winners of the WH Smith Book Awards will be announced today with Maeve Binchy nominated in the fiction category.

The Dublin-based author was shortlisted for her book 'The Scarlet Feather' along with the likes of Willy Russell, Joanna Trollope and Anita Shreeve.

The awards are the only literary honours voted for by the public with 65,000 votes cast in WH Smith stores and online.

A panel of celebrity judges including comedian Ardal O'Hanlon and the late journalist John Diamond compiled the shortlists for the eight categories which include biography, travel writing and new talent.