Find a page


Doherty and Hayes take tri titles
27 Sep 2015 11:11
Con Doherty won the Irish men’s Sprint Distance Triathlon National Championships on Saturday morning with CarolynHayes taking the women’s title.
Perfect conditions greeted over 600 triathletes for race in Clogherhead. In the men’s race James Edgar and Chris Mintern emerging from the 750 metre swim in under nine minutes. However, early in the bike ride the leading pair took a wrong turn, resulting in a shorter route being taken and ultimately their disqualification from the race Into the second transition and Doherty took all of 23 seconds to rack his bike and don his runners, giving him a jump on the competition. He went on to clock 14 minutes 18 seconds on the run section to take the win in a time of 54 minutes 50 seconds. The Women's race was won by Carolyn Hayes in a time of 1:03:02, adding the sprint title to the standard distance title she won in Dublin a few weeks ago.
Out of the water it looked as through a small pack would form as Lynne Algar, Kirsty McIlwaine, Sophie O'Brien and Niamh Corry were all in close order. Hayes wasn’t letting up though and the Limerick medical student pushed on solo, extending her lead as the race progressed.

Where can I get RTÉ Aertel Digital?

RTÉ Aertel Digital is an enhanced digital version of the RTÉ Aertel teletext service. It functions in the same way as the analogue service, offering current news, sport and weather updates but is now more agile and easier to use.

RTÉ Aertel Digital is available on Saorview, the new free digital TV service in Ireland.
Press TEXT button on your remote to launch Aertel from RTÉ One, RTÉ Two, RTÉ News Now.