Find a page

Cork Con secure Bateman Cup crown
18 Apr 2015 17:05
Cork Constitution 24-9 Clontarf
Cork Constitution's enviable cup pedigree shone through once again as they won the Ulster Bank Bateman Cup for the third successive year with a 24-9 victory over Clontarf. Darren Sweetnam's late breakaway try capped off a superb afternoon's work from the defending champions as they gave departing head coach Tom Tierney a winning send-off at Temple Hill. Three David Joyce penalties, in response to converted tries from Con back rowers Luke Cahill and James Ryan, kept Clontarf in touch at the break, trailing 14-9. But with a strong wind behind them, Tierney's men saw out the result thanks to a Darragh Lyons drop goal and Sweetnam's 74th-minute touchdown. They were also helped by a tremendous individual performance from man-of-the-match Graeme Lawler, who shone throughout in the forward exchanges. The winning margin was surprising given that Constitution had lost their last four Ulster Bank League games and Clontarf are through to next weekend's play-offs. However, with persistent lineout issues and a frustrating amount of turnovers, things never really clicked for 'Tarf this afternoon.

Where can I get RTÉ Aertel Digital?

RTÉ Aertel Digital is an enhanced digital version of the RTÉ Aertel teletext service. It functions in the same way as the analogue service, offering current news, sport and weather updates but is now more agile and easier to use.

RTÉ Aertel Digital is available on Saorview, the new free digital TV service in Ireland.
Press TEXT button on your remote to launch Aertel from RTÉ One, RTÉ Two, RTÉ News Now.